Blueberry Cornbread – Who knew?

Not quite sure how I stumbled upon this blogger’s site – I’m sure it was a mention or link from someone else -  but I am very happy I did.  My waistline begs to differ but what the hey!  Sweet Pea’s Kitchen has some marvelous concoctions on her site of which one was a recipe for blueberry cornbread.  I wanted to bake something to go with dinner and DH suggested the night before that maybe I might want to do something with the still big pile of blueberries we picked last summer that are in the freezer.  Okie dokie!

I keyed in blueberry to see what would pop up in her search section and SHAZAM! Not wanting to zest anything or really work that hard (wasn’t feeling too industrious) I opted for the interesting combination of blueberries and cornbread.  Hmmmmmmmmmm says I.  I have been chomping on cornbread since I was knee high to a knee and I did have these blueberries so off I went.  Now I will say that my personal preferences lean towards a sweeter cornbread so I added a bit more to mine than the recipe calls for and even with that it wasn’t sweet enough for me so next time I make it I will up the amount a bit more.  Somewhere in some article I read that in order to prevent your blueberries from sinking to the bottom of whatever you are making one should toss them in a bit of sugar first.  Think I might try that next time as well.  So here is the recipe and thank you Sweet Pea’s Kitchen.

BLUEBERRY CORNBREAD

Ingredients:

  • 2/3 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/3 cup yellow cornmeal
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • 1/4 cup (1/8 lb.) butter, melted
  • 1 cup fresh blueberries, rinsed
Directions:
Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Lightly grease an 8 inch square cake pan.
In a medium bowl, combine flour, cornmeal, sugar, baking powder and salt; set aside.
In another bowl, whisk together eggs, buttermilk and butter. Add to the dry ingredients and stir just until moistened. Gently stir in berries. (Lesson learned the hard way; do NOT over stir or over bake)
    
Spread level in prepared baking pan.  Bake 22-24 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.  Let cool 10 minutes.  Cut into 9 squares or wedges.
  
I might add that served with a good dollop of butter and some honey is yummy!
, , ,

  1. #1 by ChgoJohn on March 10, 2012 - 4:33 pm

    Sweet Pea’s Kitchen is where all diets go to die. Each day brings a new and delicious recipe and I see you’ve chosen a good one. Your last picture says it all. Well, all except for, “YUM!”

    • #2 by imagesbytdashfield on March 10, 2012 - 7:30 pm

      LOL Where all diets go to die. I need to look at her other recipes and not just at the baked goods.

  2. #3 by dhphotosite on March 10, 2012 - 4:47 pm

    Looks Yummy!!! Hmmmm I have some frozen blueberries too….and corn meal and…

  3. #5 by KKHPhotos.com on March 10, 2012 - 11:46 pm

    Sounds yummy! I would have never thought of that.

    • #6 by imagesbytdashfield on March 11, 2012 - 9:54 am

      My exact thoughts when I first came across it! It was a tasty combo.

  4. #7 by ceciliag on March 11, 2012 - 10:24 am

    I love it when you cook, though i have never real eaten corn bread, that last shot makes it look really tasty though! c

    • #8 by imagesbytdashfield on March 11, 2012 - 10:31 am

      Never eaten corn bread??? GASP! We must correct that soon. It was tasty especially with butter and honey. I should try and cook more, I really should it’s much healthier. t

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,004 other followers

