Cathedral Rock Revisited – Black and White or Color?

Still reworking some old photos.  This one is one of the views of Cathedral Rock in Sedona, Arizona taken in May 2013.  I’m pleased with both versions but there is just that certain something about monochrome that really brings out and emphasizes the details in some images like this one.

Cathedral rock5663-Edit-2a Cathedral rock5663-EditBW

, , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by The Dose of Reality (@TheDoseTweets) on January 14, 2014 - 8:16 am

    The monochrome is SO COOL. It looks like something out of a movie! Love it! :)-Ashley

    • #2 by imagesbytdashfield on January 14, 2014 - 8:19 am

      Thanks :) Can you just see the old prospector with his mule looking for gold?

  2. #3 by Dr_IQ on January 14, 2014 - 8:29 am

    Black and White for me.

  3. #5 by milfordstreet on January 14, 2014 - 10:32 am

    I like the monochrome also. It does bring out certain features and gives it a crispness lacking in the color version. .

    • #6 by imagesbytdashfield on January 14, 2014 - 11:57 am

      Thanks :) Amazing how something so colorful as this area can take on another look entirely in monochrome.

  4. #7 by Cindi on January 14, 2014 - 10:50 am

    I do like the crispness of the monochrome, especially against the sky – but my eye keeps going back to the color. Probably because it’s colors I never see in my part of the world?

    • #8 by imagesbytdashfield on January 14, 2014 - 11:56 am

      Really? That is interesting to know..the color part in your world I mean. Each image has it’s own merits :)

  5. #9 by bulldog on January 14, 2014 - 11:38 am

    COLOUR !!!!!!!

  6. #13 by Son of Sharecroppers on January 14, 2014 - 12:54 pm

    I prefer the color version. I like the way the black-and-white renders the rock formations themselves, but at least on my monitor the sky in the BW looks off. The detail in the cloud formations has largely disappeared, and the patches of blue sky don’t “read” very clearly. Perhaps you could use a filter or otherwise work with the sky to bring back a bit more detail.

    In the color version, I really like the sense of scale and depth, and I like the colors of the formations.

    • #14 by imagesbytdashfield on January 14, 2014 - 1:03 pm

      That is the one drawback I have about the BW version, the sky. I wasn’t able to bring out the details there without the rest of the image being overly detailed. I will try your filter suggestion to see if it works and/or just keep playing with it.

  7. #15 by Ingrid on January 14, 2014 - 2:11 pm

    I’m still partial to color. :-)

  8. #17 by TTP on January 14, 2014 - 8:19 pm

    Color! :)

  9. #19 by cecilia on January 14, 2014 - 8:24 pm

    cowboys and indians.. i like the B&W,, c

  10. #21 by chris13jkt on January 15, 2014 - 3:50 am

    Color for me. The monochrome version eliminate the detail at the foot of the hill and the sky is way too plain

    • #22 by imagesbytdashfield on January 15, 2014 - 8:17 am

      I really have to figure out how to bring the sky out better in the monochrome version because it is too plain :(

  11. #23 by Rhys Jones on January 22, 2014 - 4:04 am

    It’s a tough choice. Both images have their strengths. But on balance, I think I prefer the colour version.

  12. #25 by Lignum Draco on January 27, 2014 - 3:59 pm

    Prefer the B&W. The colour gets in the way of the texture and detail.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,186 other followers

