Orchidaceae – Pretty in Pink

Of all of the orchids that were on display, I only knew the names of three of them.  The rest were a mystery to me since I neglected to get the guide at the front desk because I wanted to leap right into the display.  So if you know the name of this one I will be most appreciative of the assistance.

I was trying to come up with a catchy song title that has Pink in it to go with this post but came up empty.  Do you know of any songs with the word pink in the title?

F5.6 – 1/100 – ISO200 – 100mm – Canon 5D

Pink orchids2849-Edit

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by seaangel4444 on February 28, 2014 - 9:20 pm

    Gorgeous!!!! :) Cher xo

  2. #3 by milfordstreet on February 28, 2014 - 9:22 pm

    Wow! Not only a great shot but you have BOTH a movie and a song tie in :D

  3. #5 by ChgoJohn on March 1, 2014 - 2:23 am

    Aw, thanks, Teri. :)
    I think these may be Cymbidiums. They’ve got the same type of flower spray and this one’s leaves seem to be spiked like a Cymbidium. Whatever you call them, they’re beautiful. Imagine walking along a path in a wooded area and coming upon a number of these orchids in bloom. How cool would that be?

    • #6 by imagesbytdashfield on March 1, 2014 - 9:47 am

      Now a find like that would send me into happy camper land immediately. I wonder where I could go to find them growing like that? As always, thank you for your orchid knowledge.

      • #7 by ChgoJohn on March 1, 2014 - 9:53 am

        They grow in Asia: China, India, Malaysia, etc. I would guess that most well-traveled areas have been “picked clean” and that you’d have to go really remote areas. They grow in Borneo, too. Just hope that they’re right about headhunting and cannibalism being abolished. :)

      • #8 by imagesbytdashfield on March 1, 2014 - 9:55 am

        Ummmmmm I think my passport might be expired! Yeah that’s my story and sticking to it ;)

  4. #9 by Mark Myers on March 1, 2014 - 6:59 am

    I have no clue what they are besides beautiful. I’m ready for spring!

    • #10 by imagesbytdashfield on March 1, 2014 - 9:48 am

      hanks! With the current forecast of up to 10inches of snow coming my way I am beyond ready for spring.

  5. #11 by DeDivahDeals on March 1, 2014 - 7:12 pm

    So vibrant I can almost smell it’s fragrance.

    • #12 by imagesbytdashfield on March 1, 2014 - 7:53 pm

      They had a delicate fragrance but it’s green sibling was the perfume winner!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,298 other followers

