Church Door – Monochrome

For where two or three are gathered together in my name, there am I in the midst of them.  Matthew 18:20

I loved the image of this church door and light so much I decided to see how it would look in black and white since monochrome is so wonderful with architecture.  I’m hard pressed to chose a favorite as both have their merits.  So tell me, which one do you prefer and why?  The color version featured here or today’s monochrome one.

Thank you and have a blessed Sunday.

                  Peace be unto you
                             Teri

ChurchDoor5975BW

 

 

 

, , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Cindi on July 6, 2014 - 6:36 am

    Although I usually respond more to the texture of black and white, I actually prefer the original image — the light creates such warmth on the door and architecture in the original. It looks colder in the black and white. (But if I didn’t have that original to compare it to, I’d really like this b&w one!)

    • #2 by imagesbytdashfield on July 6, 2014 - 3:23 pm

      Good points. They each have their own “mood” to them so it’s what appeals to the individual :)

  2. #3 by milfordstreet on July 6, 2014 - 9:28 am

    I agree with Cindi on all her points. It’s still a nice shot, but the color in the other shot adds something. I struggle with whether to use B&W or color on some shots.

    • #4 by imagesbytdashfield on July 6, 2014 - 9:43 am

      Sometimes it just is abundantly obvious and then there are times when it could go either way. Personal preference in the end. But I do see everyone’s point with this image. Thanks

  3. #5 by Ingrid on July 6, 2014 - 11:02 am

    I guess I’ll be different and say I prefer the B&W image. There’s something about it that feels more historic. Beautiful either way though.

    • #6 by imagesbytdashfield on July 6, 2014 - 3:24 pm

      Thanks. The BW version gives it a bit of a gothic feel in my opinion.

  4. #7 by Indah Susanti on July 6, 2014 - 1:08 pm

    Both is good quality photos with really nice colour composition. However, similar to Ingrid, I like the BW version for similar reason :)

    • #8 by imagesbytdashfield on July 6, 2014 - 3:26 pm

      Thanks for commenting, Indah. Color makes it more contemporary and b&w makes it feel older :)

  5. #9 by Tuxedo Sophisticated Cat on July 7, 2014 - 5:30 pm

    I think I like the color better. There are so many different colors and textures.

  6. #11 by Kan on July 9, 2014 - 12:09 am

    Great photos. I like the colour one better, because as Cindi said, the light creates a nice soft glow, which is missing in B&W

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,152 other followers

