Mighty Mud Mania makes Monday Monochrome Madness

Try saying that three times fast.  While going through my files and moving them from the hard drive to the dedicated for photos external hard drive I had an itch to try monochrome images again after yesterday’s church door.  But instead of architecture I decided to go with humans.  As this was the first file in the group I worked on the muddy people from Scottsdale, Arizona’s Mighty Mud Mania event; and I liked the end results.  Using a bit of a high contrast effect to the black and white conversion the images really seem to stand out to me.

I’m not sure if mud looks better in color or not – perhaps it does as it has that muddy color in color – but in black and white the textures of the mud itself and on people truly stands out.

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Ingrid on July 7, 2014 - 9:54 am

    My daughter is entered into a “Mud Run” in a couple of weeks…..should be an interesting day if it’s anything like your photos :-)

  2. #3 by Indah Susanti on July 7, 2014 - 9:59 am

    I agree :) I will chose the black and white composition as well for similar photos..looked like it was a fun event!

    • #4 by imagesbytdashfield on July 7, 2014 - 10:13 am

      It was great! And all during a hot sunny 105 degree day no less. I think I have a better understanding now of why some animals roll in the mud to stay cool :)

  3. #5 by bulldog on July 7, 2014 - 10:29 am

    Sorry I’d prefer to see the coloured versions…

  4. #7 by The Dose of Reality on July 7, 2014 - 10:59 am

    I’ve always loved black and white photography. Like you said, it brings out the different textures and it makes me notice different things, especially with people. I love these! –Lisa

    • #8 by imagesbytdashfield on July 7, 2014 - 4:27 pm

      Thank you! There is still very much a place for b&w photos in the world.

  5. #9 by Cindi on July 7, 2014 - 11:55 am

    I do like the texture of the mud in black and white!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,226 other followers

