The Rooster and The Horse – Boston Common Carousel

August of 2013 in Boston; revisiting the wonderful carousel there in the park (original color version here)  This one isn’t totally in black and white as you can just see some traces of the desaturated color in the image around the roosters comb and the blanket on the horse.

I wish winter would stop going round and round with us and quit pushing back into spring.  There’s snow on the ground here again! Boo!

Carousel8222-Editbw

, , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Mark Myers on March 30, 2014 - 9:47 am

    I love old carousels and the b&w makes this shot more nostalgic to me. As a furniture-maker, I am always floored by the detailed carvings on them. Beautiful photo.

    • #2 by imagesbytdashfield on March 30, 2014 - 9:53 am

      Thank you. They are intricate aren’t they? Do you get a chance to do any detailed carvings in your work?

      • #3 by Mark Myers on March 30, 2014 - 10:01 am

        I have tried and am not very good at it. I have made many toys and when the girls are a little older and I have the chance to putter around, I’ve got a plan for a detailed carousel toy that I’m going to build. Should be fun.

      • #4 by imagesbytdashfield on March 30, 2014 - 10:02 am

        I love wooden toys, so nostalgic. I still have the wooden toys my little ones had – teeth marks and all 🙂

  2. #5 by milfordstreet on March 30, 2014 - 10:22 am

    Great shot – I like how you processed it. It has a lot of depth to it.

    I wonder if this is open again, yet. I think the swan boats open by the middle of next month.

    • #6 by imagesbytdashfield on March 30, 2014 - 10:29 am

      Thanks. Providing the weather doesn’t decide to throw any more monkey wrenches into things stuff will open again. Winter be gone!!!!

  3. #7 by DeDivahDeals on March 30, 2014 - 2:36 pm

    We have a lot of rain!

    • #8 by imagesbytdashfield on March 30, 2014 - 4:30 pm

      Ours started out as rain then turned to snow but now has almost all melted – YAY!

      • #9 by DeDivahDeals on April 1, 2014 - 11:42 am

        Sunshine in the forecast?

      • #10 by imagesbytdashfield on April 1, 2014 - 3:22 pm

        Currently 73!! I hope we don’t have to pay for all this goodness 😉

      • #11 by DeDivahDeals on April 1, 2014 - 9:40 pm

        Wow – wonderful – we are not there yet.

  4. #12 by Nancy on March 31, 2014 - 12:48 am

    There is nothing like an old fashioned carousal. How neat to see it in black and white.

  5. #14 by Son of Sharecroppers on March 31, 2014 - 10:48 am

    I like the desaturation. Very nice.

Leave a Reply

