Key West – Birds the Word

If you were to suggest going to Key West right now I would be packed and ready to go in about 15 minutes!  One of the places I visited while there was the Key West Butterfly and Nature Conservatory – another place I would not hesitate to return to.  This week I will be featuring the other denizens of the conservatory and not the butterflies…although one might slip in there, who knows 😉

All of the birds in the conservatory were specially picked to help the little eco-system and not to eat any of the stars, the butterflies.  The quails and finches eat mosquitoes and other nasty bugs that might find their way in as well as the seed they are fed.  Today’s bird is either a Chinese or Japanese quail.  They had both but I’m not sure which one this is.

Quail1652-Edit

, , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Nancy on April 7, 2014 - 2:26 am

    So darling!

    • #2 by imagesbytdashfield on April 7, 2014 - 7:26 am

      The little rascals would just cross the walking path in the conservatory right under your feet practically.

  2. #3 by milfordstreet on April 7, 2014 - 8:24 am

    Nice shot – He (or she) could easily just blend right in. I’d also be up for a trip to Key West. It is one of my favorite places.

    • #4 by imagesbytdashfield on April 7, 2014 - 8:25 am

      Thanks. I want to go back but I also want to go someplace new…decisions decisions 😉

  3. #5 by The Dose of Reality on April 7, 2014 - 1:23 pm

    Oh, it’s so little and cute!! GREAT photo!! I don’t know how you do it! –Lisa

    • #6 by imagesbytdashfield on April 7, 2014 - 3:30 pm

      And interesting thing one species was smaller than the other (Chinese or Japanese not sure which). Thanks and if I told you how I do it I’d have to make you disappear 😉

  4. #7 by ChgoJohn on April 8, 2014 - 3:57 pm

    The wonders of a warm climate. A butterfly conservatory where the insects live and breed, along with other animals to build a mini-ecosystem. Love it. Great shot, too, Teri.

Leave a Reply

