Revisiting – Hood Ornaments

Whenever I go to any car show I am drawn to the vehicles themselves but also the details of each vehicle.  The wheels, the dashboards, the fuzzy dice, the engines, and the hood ornaments.  Once upon a time many cars had works of art as their hood ornaments but as time went by what with aerodynamics and fuel economy – not to mention little thieves who ripped off said ornaments – the era of fancy hood adornment slowly faded.

But when the classic, and some newer models, cars are shown I am in hood ornament nirvana!  Here are a few as previews to the cars that I will be bringing back once I decide which beauties to feature.  Classic? Modern? Hot Rod? Custom? So many to chose from…stay tuned.

 

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by redstuffdan on April 25, 2014 - 4:00 am

    Bonjour Madame Dashfield

    Love all your stuff – it just gets better and better

    Regards

    Dan

    • #2 by imagesbytdashfield on April 25, 2014 - 9:48 am

      Bonjour et merci Monsieur Dan 🙂 Your comment has brought a smile to my morning.

  2. #3 by Nancy on April 25, 2014 - 7:31 am

    Beauties…!

  3. #5 by AnaLuciaSilva on April 25, 2014 - 1:56 pm

    Stunning!

  4. #7 by The Dose of Reality on April 25, 2014 - 3:29 pm

    What I love about this is that–as a non artist person–I never think about things like this. But as an artist you do and it’s so cool. l’m now looking at this seemingly every day object in such a different way…which is what art does. AWESOME!! –Lisa

    • #8 by imagesbytdashfield on April 25, 2014 - 4:23 pm

      My work here is done 😉 But these hood ornaments harken back to a time when style was applied to everything. I love finding them.

  5. #9 by Antionette Blake on April 25, 2014 - 4:22 pm

    I love these classic hood ornaments, now we’re lucky to get a plastic emblem on a new car!

  6. #11 by milfordstreet on April 25, 2014 - 8:18 pm

    Ah, such great style. You did a great job getting photos of these.

    • #12 by imagesbytdashfield on April 25, 2014 - 8:38 pm

      You should see me when I go to the car shows. I look for these first 🙂

      • #13 by milfordstreet on April 25, 2014 - 9:13 pm

        Sounds fun – They are great subject matter and you seem to challenge yourself to shoot them in creative ways.

  7. #14 by ChgoJohn on April 26, 2014 - 12:57 am

    Such a shame that hood ornaments went out of style, though I remember a few “close encounters” playing football in the streets. 🙂

    • #15 by imagesbytdashfield on April 26, 2014 - 6:00 pm

      Ouchies! But styles have changed…and not always for the better in some ways 😉

  8. #16 by bulldog on April 26, 2014 - 1:56 am

    I love this post… right up my street…

Leave a Reply

