Lavender

Not the plant but the color; that being a pale tint of violet.  When we were dating he would often meet me at the airport with a bouquet of roses (at the time we had a midwest/east coast romance going on and were racking up miles) and I felt on top of the world every time.  One day he brought me lavender and white roses and I was amazed as I had never ever seen lavender roses before.  One of us, I don’t recall who, dropped a subtle as a ton of bricks hint about them making a great wedding bouquet.

At the time he was in favor of getting hitched and I was all for running away from it.  Needless to say he wore me down…and while planning the wedding guess what the colors were? You got it!  My shoes were purple, the bouquet was lavender roses, his shirt, the invitations, etc. were all in the lavender and white color scheme.  I didn’t go Bridezilla but some might have a slightly different opinion about that.  Don’t listen to them.

All of this is to say that this week is our wedding anniversary and I am unplugging from social media for awhile so that we can run away with each other to celebrate.  The doctor has said the bone is laying down it’s calcium and I should have another 3 weeks before it’s mended but the soft tissue injury is still a big wonky.  Alas no high heels for this anniversary but I will carry on just as well in flat sandals.

Then again, I do have a pair of lavender Nikes.  See you next week 🙂

(Not roses but they are the right color; bless his heart)

Lavender orchids

About imagesbytdashfield

Fine art photographer who loves to see and capture the amazing things in this world. Owner of Images by TDashfield photography. www.imagesbytdashfield.com
This entry was posted in event, Flowers, humor, life, photography and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Lavender

  1. Uncle Tree says:

    Totally Royalty! 🙂 Queen T’s violet ease ~

  2. DeDivahDeals says:

    Happy Anniversary and enjoy your time together.

  3. Happy Anniversary and enjoy your time away! Hope you are also back to 100% soon.

  4. Cindi says:

    Such a sweet post!! Happy anniversary, and have a wonderful (and pain-free) time in your sandals and lavender Nikes!!

  5. Beautiful. I love orchids and I love the color.

  6. Nancy says:

    Happy Anniversary! Have a wonderful time away! Hope your lavender nikes take you where you want to go!

  7. I knew I liked you! Similarities: 1) I kept pushing to get married and wore her down. 2) Our anniversary was last weekend. 3)The color scheme for our wedding was purple (lavender). 4) My wife shattered her heal 5 years ago and when we first met she could barely walk. Now she outdoes me on our hikes! So happy anniversary. Keep the lights low and just enjoy!

  8. etomczyk says:

    TD: I have a request–some expert camera advise–if you will. Our anniversary is coming soon. My husband is an amateur photographer (very good for his level), and I would like to buy him a new digital camera. What would you recommend? It should be pocket sized so that it travels well. Any help you can give would be greatly appreciated.

    • Sorry I can’t help you as I know much more about dslr’s than I do what you are looking for. Best advice is to go to a camera shop and ask them (real camera shop not a big box store)

      • etomczyk says:

        Thanks TD. Our last camera shop just went bankrupt, but he has changed his mind about needing a new camera. Has announced that the one he has is fine. Auuugh!

  9. Mark Myers says:

    Happy Anniversary, and a beautiful picture!

  10. Thank you everyone for your kind wishes – we had a wonderful anniversary. But the stories I can tell you about the penguin 😉

Leave a Reply

