George Burns – Floribunda Rose

While walking around the park I couldn’t help but notice some of the names of the roses and what stood out was how many were named after famous people.  Famous as in political figures (Lady Bird Johnson), movie stars (Elizabeth Taylor), sports figures (Chris Evert), and entertainers like George here.  Next to George was his wife, Gracie Allen, but none of her blooms were open at the time.  I hope to go back and capture one.  That would make a great post – George and Gracie together again.

 

George Burns 6508

, , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by etomczyk on July 15, 2014 - 10:34 am

    That would be a good post. What a beautiful rose. I used to raise roses but they almost drove me crazy. Had to let the go. Their predators are numerous.

    • #2 by imagesbytdashfield on July 15, 2014 - 10:43 am

      Oh I know! There came a time when the Japanese beetle invasion first hit and they chewed up my lovelies. Sadly I saw many of them noshing away on the ones here.

      • #3 by etomczyk on July 15, 2014 - 11:20 am

        I HATE THE JAPANESE BEETLE! THEY ARE MY SWORN ENEMY!!

      • #4 by imagesbytdashfield on July 15, 2014 - 11:29 am

        You and many many others! Then I guess you won’t want to see the photo I took of a horde of them decimating a rose?

      • #5 by etomczyk on July 15, 2014 - 11:30 am

        NOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!

      • #6 by imagesbytdashfield on July 15, 2014 - 11:33 am

        I will but a warning label on the post if/when I do it 🙂

  2. #7 by milfordstreet on July 15, 2014 - 12:20 pm

    George and Gracie together again would be pretty cool. Such a beautiful rose. Great shot.

  3. #9 by DeDivahDeals on July 15, 2014 - 12:23 pm

    Cute, I catch their show every once in awhile on @AntennaTV

    • #10 by imagesbytdashfield on July 15, 2014 - 2:04 pm

      Really? I don’t think I’ve ever seen one.

      • #11 by DeDivahDeals on July 15, 2014 - 10:02 pm

        No…oh my Google it, she is such a dim wit but it’s a light hearted show.

  4. #12 by Damien Wijerathne on July 17, 2014 - 11:48 pm

    Beautiful photo…

Leave a Reply

