The Phantom of the Opera

I’ve seen this show once  (with seats right under the chandelier – woo hoo), the movie once, and the original Lon Chaney non-musical movie once.  The songs from this show are wonderful.  To show you how much this show has moved people, once when I was in my doctor’s office discussing my health in general,  I mentioned that I had been out of town and had gone to see this show.  His eyes lit up as he told me how he had gone to see it with his family.  And then we both broke out singing one of the shows tunes 🙂

If you get the chance to see the show, by all means go!  I wanted to see it again on our recent trip to Broadway but DH wanted to show me another musical – Les Miserables.  Also a very good musical but the songs aren’t as catchy.  I took this photo outside of the theater where it is playing in New York.  Each little square is an image from the many years that the show has been playing.

“Let me be your shelter, Let me be your light.  You’re safe no one will find you, your fears are far behind you… ”  All I Ask of You – Phantom of the Opera

Phantom7742-Edit

F4.0 – 1/40 – ISO500 – 35mm – Canon 5D III

 

, , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Lignum Draco on August 14, 2014 - 7:15 am

    I share your enthusiasm, and have the vinyl album with Sarah Brightman and Michael Crawford singing too. 🙂

  2. #3 by simon Tocclo on August 14, 2014 - 10:45 am

    I will def do that after reading your inspiring post 🙂 ..I thought about it many times when I lived in New York but as with many other “I would love 2’s ” I didn´t happen and I always ended up on the grass in central park watching the clouds in the sky

    • #4 by imagesbytdashfield on August 14, 2014 - 11:03 am

      Which is fun to do as well – been there done that 🙂 But it is a magnificent musical. Do go see it!

  3. #5 by Mark Myers on August 18, 2014 - 5:40 am

    I want to see that one too. It looks like we are headed to NYC soon, but that won’t be one we take in.

    • #6 by imagesbytdashfield on August 18, 2014 - 6:29 am

      Oh goodie! Going to NYC. Too bad you won’t be seeing this but are you going to see any and which one/s?

      • #7 by Mark Myers on August 18, 2014 - 6:49 am

        We are definitely seeing Aladdin. It is tailored around Kylie’s wish, so probably Matilda and Lion King too.

      • #8 by imagesbytdashfield on August 18, 2014 - 6:51 am

        Both are great and they will have a ball. Make sure you take them to Junior’s for the cheesecake or the cake shake…Oh drool!

      • #9 by Mark Myers on August 18, 2014 - 7:09 am

        thanks, will do

Leave a Reply

