Nearing the end of summer…

The coneflowers are just about all gone and I haven’t seen that many bees buzzing around.  The temps have dropped and are now much cooler; cool enough to open windows and doors and let some fresh air in.  As spring is the sign of things being reborn and summer is when life is in full bloom, autumn I suppose is when things wind down and get ready for their long winters nap.  The other day a friend told me how they loved the spring and fall best.  My favorite seasons are summer and fall; the times of the year when the colors are abundant and I really being out with my camera.

 

ConeBee6310

 

, , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Indah Susanti on September 16, 2014 - 2:25 am

    Great shot!!

  2. #3 by cecilia on September 16, 2014 - 6:33 am

    I love summer the best too.. it all seemed to go so quickly..c

  3. #5 by Uncle Tree on September 16, 2014 - 6:51 am

    Brilliantly vivid and eye-catching! 🙂 Nice catch, Teri! Peace and luvz, UT

    • #6 by imagesbytdashfield on September 16, 2014 - 10:23 am

      Just call me the bee whisperer…or stalker 😉 Thanks, Tio

  4. #7 by De Divah Deals on September 16, 2014 - 9:26 am

    Yes, I can’t believe summer is really over…I didn’t get one mosquito bite nor my annual bout of poison ivy, therefore, I am not giving in to the change of season!!

    • #8 by imagesbytdashfield on September 16, 2014 - 10:24 am

      I got stung by something once and how in the world do you get into poison ivy? I will miss it as always 😦

      • #9 by De Divah Deals on September 16, 2014 - 11:15 am

        that’s just it…I don’t go looking for it, but somehow it finds me but not this year…

  5. #10 by marcus dilano on September 16, 2014 - 10:50 am

    Beautiful image Teri. Can I ask you what lens you used as well as the camera settings? I always have issues catching such details when working with flowers.

    • #11 by imagesbytdashfield on September 16, 2014 - 10:56 am

      Canon 5D III, Canon 100mm 2.8L macro lens, F 5.0, ISO250, 1/80 (should’ve had it higher) post editing in LR 🙂

      • #12 by marcus dilano on September 16, 2014 - 11:05 am

        Thanks for sharing those details! I Appreciate it. I tend to like shooting at f 2.8 and below. That’s probably my issue due to not getting enough of the flower in focus.

      • #13 by imagesbytdashfield on September 16, 2014 - 11:09 am

        Those settings will work on people great but when you want to get detail on little things like flowers because you have such a tiny area for the DOF you have to start F5 +/- and work from there.

  6. #14 by benrowef64 on September 16, 2014 - 11:50 am

    I kind of have to head indoors during winter as we hit the – Celsius. I love spring because of the blossom, the summer for the saturation and autumn for the contrast.

    • #15 by imagesbytdashfield on September 16, 2014 - 1:47 pm

      Spring I love because of life returning but it also means the beginning of sneezing 😉 And I agree with you 100% about summer and fall. Thanks

  7. #16 by Cindi on September 16, 2014 - 3:46 pm

    I remember that first fresh air of the season through an open window (after the artificial-yet-necessary air conditioning of the summer) as such a relief. It brings the promise of Fall’s colorful delights to look forward to, doesn’t it.

    And, I like the vivid detail of your image!

    • #17 by imagesbytdashfield on September 16, 2014 - 3:51 pm

      Thanks 🙂 I look forward to more comfy weather in the fall and the beautiful colors but I will miss being not layered in clothing and my sandals while I try NOT to think about what’s coming next – ugh!

  8. #18 by Mjollnir on September 23, 2014 - 2:16 pm

    Superb shot 🙂

Leave a Reply

