Remove this fuse

At least I think that’s what it says in the red writing at the bottom of the fuse box or maybe it says don’t remove this fuse.  These are Buss 30W fuses.  I think Buss fuses are still made although not in this form…probably.  The bottom of them resembled the bottom of light bulbs as you screwed them in and out of the fuse box.   Whatever it was they once made in this factory seemed to require at least a couple of these fuse boxes on the ground floor or maybe that’s all that survived.

This is what they looked like when new:

 

RemoveFusebox 9324

, , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Rhys Jones on November 19, 2014 - 6:57 am

    That fuse box looks ancient!

    • #2 by imagesbytdashfield on November 19, 2014 - 9:35 am

      I believe the building has been closed for a few decades so it is a bit long in the tooth 😉

  2. #3 by marcus dilano on November 19, 2014 - 10:00 am

    You are definitely far more adventurous than I am.. I think I have watched way to many horror movies.. When I see abandoned buildings, I want to go in but then I think about the guy with a chainsaw that may be lurking inside.. Too active of an imagination??? Maybe lol

    • #4 by imagesbytdashfield on November 19, 2014 - 10:06 am

      If it’s too dark I won’t venture in but other than that I tread carefully and often get pulled back by DH 🙂

  3. #5 by Mark Myers on November 24, 2014 - 8:45 am

    Buss fuses are still made. I actually sell them (sometimes). You could probably fit fifty of them on that thing, though.

    • #6 by imagesbytdashfield on November 24, 2014 - 12:11 pm

      I wonder how/where they are used now?

      • #7 by Mark Myers on November 24, 2014 - 2:42 pm

        I don’t know if those actual models are made, but they do make huge ones for generators and large electrical equipment. I sell the little electronic ones you can barely see most of the time.

  4. #8 by Son of Sharecroppers on November 24, 2014 - 8:25 pm

    Awesome shot.

Leave a Reply

