I stumbled into an orchid show

I went to our local conservatory because it was the last day of the dangerous plants show (more about them later) but no sooner than I rounded the corner from the ticket desk,  I was hit with orchidpalooza!  Some orchid growing club/association was having a show that weekend and not only were there orchids galore that were being judged but they also had loads of them for sale.  I wanted to buy one but it appears my thumb may be a bit green for many things but not for orchids.

It was a bit difficult getting some shots as there were so many orchids packed into a smallish area surrounded by orchid owners, orchid lovers and orchid sellers. By the time I got there the judging had been done so many of the orchids had ribbons on them; I just shot what I could without bumping into anyone or any orchids.

 

, , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Dave Phalen on December 16, 2014 - 8:53 am

    Always worth a trip to FPC! I’ll be out there later this week.

  2. #3 by Indah Susanti on December 16, 2014 - 10:08 am

    I love orchids and these are lovely pictures! Dangerous plants show, I do wonder..looking forward to see more of the posts!

    • #4 by imagesbytdashfield on December 16, 2014 - 2:54 pm

      Thank you. Some of the dangerous plants looked obviously dangerous while others were sneaky about it.

  3. #5 by milfordstreet on December 16, 2014 - 10:41 am

    You did a nice job getting some good shots. Crowded spaces make photography a real challenge.

    • #6 by imagesbytdashfield on December 16, 2014 - 1:22 pm

      Thank you. It was very close quarters with some of the flowers.

  4. #7 by Nancy on December 16, 2014 - 11:07 am

    Orchids… a beautiful and delicate flower. You captured the delicate nature of them. Even if it was crowded.

  5. #9 by Tuxedo Sophisticated Cat on December 16, 2014 - 5:02 pm

    What fun!! They’re gorgeous. I have a brown thumb but have managed to keep 4 orchids alive for 4 years. Certain orchids are much hardier than others. You should give it a try.

    • #10 by imagesbytdashfield on December 17, 2014 - 10:31 am

      Thanks. What do you suggest?

      • #11 by Tuxedo Sophisticated Cat on December 17, 2014 - 10:38 am

        I would suggest a Phalaenopsis. That’s what a friend suggested to me and so far its worked out for me. Good luck.

      • #12 by imagesbytdashfield on December 17, 2014 - 10:40 am

        Thanks. I tried two and well…. LOL

      • #13 by Tuxedo Sophisticated Cat on December 17, 2014 - 10:42 am

        I have 3 that haven’t bloomed in 3 years. I’ve been persistent though and two of them are starting to get ready to bloom. Patience is a virtue when it comes to orchids. 🙂

      • #14 by imagesbytdashfield on December 17, 2014 - 10:49 am

        You used the “p” word! LOL Thanks 🙂

  6. #15 by ChgoJohn on December 16, 2014 - 5:55 pm

    Ooooo … may favorite kind of stumble. Lovely shots, Teri. 🙂

  7. #17 by bulldog on December 17, 2014 - 12:15 am

    A Teri special… love it

  8. #19 by renxkyoko on December 17, 2014 - 7:42 pm

    We used to have an orchid garden in the Philippines. Mom wanted to have one in the US, but ….. they all die on us. :/

    • #20 by imagesbytdashfield on December 17, 2014 - 8:04 pm

      Some have luck with growing them inside…I don’t happen to be one of them.

  9. #21 by dhphotosite on December 20, 2014 - 1:23 pm

    Wow what a great find!!! Super photos!!!

Leave a Reply

