Searching for Obi-Wan in color

I thought I’d share yesterday’s image with you but in all of its Valley of Fire colors.  We were walking out of the Fire Wave hiking area (never made it to the actual fire waves, they were possibly way on the other side of those hills in the background) when DH noticed the variation of colors especially as the sun was starting to go down behind us.  It was beautiful!  If you look closely you can see in the lower third section of the image the trail we were walking on.

I have so got to get back to this place as soon as I can and spend more time.

Side note: yesterdays other movie reference “the missing scale” part? The Hobbit!  The missing scale belonging to Smaug; the one place he was vulnerable 😉

 

Desert1526-EditbwCEP

, , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Sophie L. on January 27, 2015 - 4:54 am

    I prefer the color one. Have a nice day

  2. #3 by infraredrobert on January 27, 2015 - 8:55 am

    In comparing the two – the color one seems more desolate.

    • #4 by imagesbytdashfield on January 27, 2015 - 9:21 am

      Really? I am guessing that the colors give you a greater perspective on things.

      • #5 by infraredrobert on January 27, 2015 - 10:08 am

        I went back and forth several times and yes, for me the color one is more desolate looking.

      • #6 by imagesbytdashfield on January 27, 2015 - 10:13 am

        But it was a pretty kind of desolate. The absolute silence is what got to me.

      • #7 by infraredrobert on January 27, 2015 - 10:56 am

        That is why I love the desert.

      • #8 by imagesbytdashfield on January 27, 2015 - 12:20 pm

        First time I ever experienced it and it was at first scary and then wonderful!

  3. #9 by Cindi on January 27, 2015 - 10:34 am

    I usually like monochrome better, but these colors get my vote!

    And, The Hobbit and Smaug. Of COURSE, silly me!

  4. #11 by bulldog on January 27, 2015 - 10:49 am

    Oh wow now that I prefer…

  5. #13 by milfordstreet on January 27, 2015 - 12:57 pm

    Now, I get it – doink! I like the monochrome better, but both are good.

    • #14 by imagesbytdashfield on January 27, 2015 - 5:56 pm

      I thought for sure you’d get it…you were too busy on Tatooine to visit Middle Earth 😉

  6. #15 by darwinontherocks on January 27, 2015 - 3:43 pm

    This place looks fantastic ! We’ve missed it.. we chose to go to Red Rock Canyon instead… this one looks fabulous !Damn it ! the b&w picture is great, but we can really appreciate the colours of the rock with this one.

    • #16 by imagesbytdashfield on January 27, 2015 - 5:58 pm

      We could only hit one of them so we picked VOF over Red Rock. It is fantastic! But one day maybe we will see Red Rock too 🙂

  7. #17 by Nancy on January 27, 2015 - 7:59 pm

    I like them both…cause it’s the desert and we all know I “lurve” the desert!

  8. #19 by A. Blake on January 27, 2015 - 9:58 pm

    It is even more beautiful in color!

  9. #21 by Indah Susanti on January 29, 2015 - 6:38 am

    I like this one too – love both of them! 🙂

Leave a Reply

