Princess of Mars

I suppose this image could also qualify for the weekly photo challenge of “Depth” (I think there was a big drop off behind those last red rocks) but when I look at it I think of the red planet, Mars, therefore the title of today’s post.  This area is called Rainbow Vista because some of the sandstone formations have patterns in them that resemble rainbows.  We had gone way off the trail at this part of the park – whoops!  Which while exciting could’ve been a bit hazardous.  Every time I look at the map they gave us I am even more fired up to return to my realm on Mars 🙂

By the way, anyone notice the hand of the rock giant in this image?

(If you haven’t done so already, don’t forget to enter my giveaway for a Black Rapid Kick Pink Camera Strap here . Winner to be announced on Monday! Thanks)

 

Mars1373-Edit

About imagesbytdashfield

Fine art photographer who loves to see and capture the amazing things in this world. Owner of Images by TDashfield photography. www.imagesbytdashfield.com
This entry was posted in Parks, photography, weekly challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Princess of Mars

  1. Love the hand…I know you may think I’m shilling for the State of Utah, but check out Goblin Valley State Park – another off-world landscape.

  2. Absolutely beautiful photo! The colors, the rock formations…it’s all amazing!

  3. Well spotted! Beautiful composition of colors – this place is certainly perfect for futuristic-science themed movies – and yes, the ones about Mars 🙂

    • What’s funny is that a lot of these formations I didn’t “see” until I had them up on the computer 🙂 They’ve filmed Total Recall, Transformers and one Star Trek move here to name a few.

  4. etomczyk says:

    Yep, I see the hand (now that you pointed it out). This looks like another planet. I can see why they filmed Star Trek here.

Leave a Reply

