Color Coordinated Cactus

As usual, when I see something I want to photograph I kind of forget about where I am and if I’m supposed to be where I’m photographing.  I’d only been told once to get out of a place where I was trying to get a macro shot of a cactus flower (I was standing on a drainage cover and wasn’t even touching any of the plants, geeze!) so when we were here I was “reminded” by DH to not go wandering off too far because I was inching closer to the private residence area that was next to where we had stopped for ice cream at an outdoor mall.  Ok, so I had walked up the path which led to their gated community but I wasn’t trespassing.  I was admiring the view from up there 🙂

The area was a suburb of Scottsdale, Arizona but I cannot recall the exact name.  It was amazing to see all of the desert with the blooming cactus, quail families running around, and homes built into the sides of the mountains.  This beauty has her nails (spines) and her petals color coordinated.  Look but don’t touch!  Hopefully this Throwback Thursday image will turn into a current image soon if we get our plans together to return to Arizona or Utah for something new… or maybe both!

Click for larger view

CactusNails5353-Edit

, , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Wade Lancaster on April 2, 2015 - 2:58 am

    Reblogged this on Wade Lancaster.

  2. #2 by infraredrobert on April 2, 2015 - 5:56 am

    You need a camera that tags your images with GPS coordinates 🙂

    • #3 by imagesbytdashfield on April 2, 2015 - 6:09 am

      Mine does but I haven’t turned it on. I know how to get to this area which is right outside of Scottsdale, just don’t recall the name of the town. I’m bad with names sometimes 😉

      • #4 by infraredrobert on April 2, 2015 - 6:10 am

        Me too – I have to see a name in print before it sticks – maybe because we are visual thinkers…

      • #5 by imagesbytdashfield on April 2, 2015 - 6:11 am

        Exactly!!!

  3. #6 by Indah Susanti on April 2, 2015 - 7:10 am

    So pretty! I have never seen cactus flower in real before – only on picture 🙂

    • #7 by imagesbytdashfield on April 2, 2015 - 7:43 am

      I would love to take you to my favorite places in Arizona to see them when they bloom, they are amazing and very dry unlike where you photograph LOL

  4. #9 by Bruce Thiesen on April 2, 2015 - 7:24 am

    Beautiful

  5. #11 by milfordstreet on April 2, 2015 - 8:13 am

    It is beautiful….Boundaries do get a bit hazy when making photographs. Sometimes, we just have to take a chance.

    • #12 by imagesbytdashfield on April 2, 2015 - 8:32 am

      Thanks. I was making sure I respected boundaries. I mean I didn’t go through the property gates just right up to them 🙂

  6. #13 by Nancy on April 2, 2015 - 9:34 am

    Oh what a pretty picture. I sure hope you get to come soooooon! I am headed to Utah very soooooon!

  7. #14 by Nancy on April 2, 2015 - 9:35 am

    Is it Carefree? Is that the town you took this picture in? Because you said houses built into the sides of mountains. I know Carefree has such houses.

    • #15 by imagesbytdashfield on April 2, 2015 - 10:37 am

      The residences were called The Boulders and it is before you get to Carefree. Other than that I don’t know.

  8. #16 by Tuxedo Sophisticated Cat on April 2, 2015 - 10:49 am

    So pretty.

  9. #18 by Ingrid on April 2, 2015 - 12:18 pm

    Such a lovely photo. The desert is particularly pretty right now as she’s in full bloom. I’m hoping the saguaro bloom before I leave. That is a unique sight to behold but they are usually the last ones, blooming late in the season…. around May.

    • #19 by imagesbytdashfield on April 2, 2015 - 3:51 pm

      I’ve seen the saguaro in bloom once and it is great to see those flowers way up there. I hope if we make it out things will still be in bloom.

  10. #20 by marcus dilano on April 8, 2015 - 8:15 am

    Love this image Teri!

Leave a Reply

