Stratford Ecological Center

“The Stratford Ecological Center is a non-profit educational organic farm and nature preserve on 236 acres in Delaware County, Ohio. Visitors are welcome to explore the land, hike the 4 miles of nature tails, visit the livestock, tour the gardens and greenhouses or explore the creek, pond, prairie, swamps or State Nature Preserve. Farm products are available for sale seasonally, based on availability. Stratford offers workshops and classes for children and adults, annual festivals, farm tours, school tours, farm camp and family programs.  The Stratford Ecological Center is a private non-profit organization dedicated to the education of children and adults in understanding the relationships between living things and their environment, thereby fostering an appreciation of the land and all life that depends on it.  http://www.stratfordecologicalcenter.org”

Now I am the poster child for being a city/suburban girl and the last time I set foot on a farm was when taking a group of children to one for a field trip during my teaching days.  But I wanted to go here for the macro photography talk.  As that didn’t happen and it was a pleasant day I went exploring by myself.  The first thing I learned about visiting a farm is that you may need to pack a pair of Wellies to wear – farms can get a bit “messy”!  (Told you I was a city girl didn’t I?)  The next thing I learned was that farms are “fragrant” and not always in a pleasing way.  But that’s nature for you isn’t it?  (I can just hear some of you farmers out there laughing or shaking your heads at me.)

This place is huge with paths leading off to who knows where but I only explored a little bit of the farming area on my visit.  The animals are used to people being around so there were some guides taking small groups of young children that were on a field trip through the barn and into the fields.  I would like to go back when the weather is less windy and more plants have awakened from their long winters nap.  I will be posting images from my trip there this week and will ask you to assist in naming breeds of animals because as I said…I am city girl 🙂

Today we’re up with the chickens…

, , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by feralc4t on April 20, 2015 - 5:34 am

    Went to a farm park thing at the weekend, good times 🙂

  2. #3 by milfordstreet on April 20, 2015 - 8:49 am

    Nice photos. It sounds like a fun shoot. There are a few places like this around here. I’ve made photos at a couple of them. I think they keep them fairly picturesque. Cheers

  3. #5 by Timothy Price on April 20, 2015 - 9:49 am

    Love the chicken photos!

Leave a Reply

