Down the steps…

Of just one wing of the New York Public Library; no idea what wing or where these they went to.  In this post I am combining the WPC of intricate (the amazing stone work here) with Monochrome Monday.  How’s that for a two-fer! I converted the color image using Nik’s Silver Effect Pro 2 pumping up the contrast in order to bring out all of the detail in the stonework.  Again, amazing craftsmanship.

Library7667-EditSE

, , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by milfordstreet on May 4, 2015 - 5:51 am

    Nice shot and I like how you processed it. It makes me want to see what is down there. Cheers =)

    • #2 by imagesbytdashfield on May 4, 2015 - 5:59 am

      Thanks! I wanted to go down there too but wasn’t sure I was supposed to 🙂

      • #3 by milfordstreet on May 4, 2015 - 8:03 am

        lol – I was recently asked to leave the property of one of the Newport mansions that is now a museum because I did not have a ticket and was outside making photos.

      • #4 by imagesbytdashfield on May 4, 2015 - 4:53 pm

        Wait! You were outside and they gave you grief? How rude!!!

      • #5 by milfordstreet on May 4, 2015 - 5:10 pm

        The good news is that I got my shots in before being excused. 😀

      • #6 by imagesbytdashfield on May 4, 2015 - 5:14 pm

        Good for you!

  2. #7 by infraredrobert on May 4, 2015 - 7:03 am

    Good shot – very complex you did a great job capturing all the conflicting angles.

    • #8 by imagesbytdashfield on May 4, 2015 - 4:53 pm

      Thanks. There were some parts of that library that made me think I was at Hogwarts with all of the angles and stairs.

      • #9 by infraredrobert on May 5, 2015 - 7:17 am

        I can see that = especially in the dark areas.

  3. #10 by Lignum Draco on May 4, 2015 - 7:12 am

    Interesting and detailed shot. Were the ghostbusters anywhere in sight?

    • #11 by imagesbytdashfield on May 4, 2015 - 4:54 pm

      That section was closed for repairs or something because I was going to be right there if it had been open!

  4. #12 by bulldog on May 4, 2015 - 9:18 am

    Looks interesting… now I wonder what’s down there

  5. #14 by Rob Moses Photography on May 4, 2015 - 10:29 am

    awesome shot! What a cool stairwell.

  6. #16 by sustainabilitea on May 4, 2015 - 5:57 pm

    The black and white is perfect for highlighting the intricacies of the stonework. I love the beauty of the old buildings.

    janet

  7. #18 by Valerie (Our Ruins) on May 4, 2015 - 8:24 pm

    Wow, the details in this shot are absolutely stunning!

    • #19 by imagesbytdashfield on May 5, 2015 - 8:19 am

      Thank you. That building is amazing I could happily go back and find more places 🙂

  8. #20 by Nancy on May 4, 2015 - 10:02 pm

    Your two-fer came out perfect. The intricacy of the stone work was captured and the monochrome came out perfectly. I am able to see the downward progression easily but as I step down I want to know what is behind that door at the bottom??

  9. #22 by allentimphotos2 on May 5, 2015 - 9:06 am

    A very nice symmetrical image. It really works in b&w.

Leave a Reply

