The Ernest Hemingway House and Museum – Books and Movies

In spite of the trend today for everything to be read on ones phone or tablet, I still like the feel of a good book and on display here were plenty of those.  So many of the books that he wrote are shown in this case as well as several that were published in other languages.

HemingBooks1850-Edit-2 HemingBooks1850-Editcrp

But it wouldn’t be about Hemingway if there wasn’t any mention of the movies that his books were turned into.  Here are just two examples of that from the movie The Old Man and The Sea.  There were pictures of him and his boats (one that he named using the nickname of one of his wives, Pilar) and the Cuban gentleman that inspired the book.  Although I did not photograph it, there was also in one of the many display cases his fishing equipment from his days on the sea.  I could almost see him out there fighting to haul in a big one.

Heming1868-Edit Heming1869-Edit

 

About imagesbytdashfield

Fine art photographer who loves to see and capture the amazing things in this world. Owner of Images by TDashfield photography. www.imagesbytdashfield.com
This entry was posted in architecture, History, photography, travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to The Ernest Hemingway House and Museum – Books and Movies

  1. I’d forgotten about the museum part of this…It was pretty cool. This was in the house, right?

  2. GP Cox says:

    You have MY vote for the BOOKS – no pad or tablet in this house! I went to the Hemingway house in Key West and found the building and guide very interesting. [I wanted to take one of his cats home, but no such luck].

  3. I missed doing the Ernest Hemingway trails when I was in Havana! Your post me reminds me of what I missed 😦 Nicely captured Teri!

  4. Ingrid says:

    I’m with you, even though I use Kindle, there’s nothing like a ‘real’ book 🙂

  5. Timothy Price says:

    Good stuff!

  6. Nancy says:

    Very cool postings girlfriend!! And a real book is the best!

  7. Mark Myers says:

    Very cool. I’m a fan of his work, such a character. Would love to visit this place.

Leave a Reply

