Barn by the side of the road + a lot of acres

This barn sits very close to a major road and as of this year they are building a new hospital next to it.  There is a sign that says ‘For Sale 300+ Acres’ so I have no idea just how far back the land goes but I will be sad to see it go; it has been there tempting me to photograph it for years.  I had to use a zoom lens from the other side of the four lanes to get this shot as I timed shooting between all of the passing vehicles.  I’d love to get closer but haven’t figured out yet how to navigate the traffic to get to it safely and I think someone still lives on the land way behind that clump of trees.

And I’d hate to run into them trying to get on their property as they were coming out.  That could get awkward 😉  Enjoy your weekend everyone.

 

yellowbarn4932-Edita copy

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Timothy Price on August 8, 2015 - 10:43 am

    That’s a wonderful barn. 300 acres is roughly 1/2 mile on a side if the land were square. People can get pretty aggressive about strangers on their property, especially strangers with cameras.

    • #2 by imagesbytdashfield on August 8, 2015 - 3:38 pm

      Strangers with cameras are nice strangers!

      • #3 by Timothy Price on August 9, 2015 - 1:24 am

        We know that. But do the owners?

      • #4 by imagesbytdashfield on August 9, 2015 - 9:42 am

        True but I try my best to smile and look non threatening.

      • #5 by Timothy Price on August 9, 2015 - 10:19 am

        Ad you have to engage them in conversation about whatever it is you are photographing, as well.

      • #6 by imagesbytdashfield on August 9, 2015 - 10:25 am

        Oh yeah…I’ve done that too.

  2. #7 by A. Blake on August 8, 2015 - 12:14 pm

    Great shot but be careful my dear.,.

    • #8 by imagesbytdashfield on August 8, 2015 - 3:39 pm

      I’m always careful plus I have my trusty sherpa with me to make sure I don’t get into trouble.

  3. #9 by milfordstreet on August 8, 2015 - 12:51 pm

    Nice barn but stay safe….Happy Weekend!

    • #10 by imagesbytdashfield on August 8, 2015 - 3:41 pm

      Oh yeah always safe…that’s why I haven’t gotten the shots I really want of this barn.

  4. #11 by Indah Susanti on August 9, 2015 - 7:33 am

    Nice image but yeah, be safe!! Have a wonderful Sunday!

    • #12 by imagesbytdashfield on August 9, 2015 - 9:41 am

      Thanks and this is a barn because of the safety issues I may never get to photograph to my liking…unless I go knock on the guys front door 😉

Leave a Reply

