Let’s talk about focal points

While we sit down in this beautiful farm garden.  Both images were shot standing in the same spot with identical settings, but what makes them different?  In the first photo I shot a third of the way in just in front of the first picnic table.  In the second photo I shot a third of the way in again but near the bottom of the lowest hanging gourd on the trellis.  As you can see, keeping everything the same other than the focal point resulted in two different images with different depths of field.  Try shooting this way and see what you come up with.

My preference leans towards the first image because the tables and the surrounding flowers, which I really like, are more in focus but there is a nice dreamy look to the second as if you were being invited into a secret garden.  What do you think?

Tables5563-Edit copy    Tables5562-Edit a

About imagesbytdashfield

Fine art photographer who loves to see and capture the amazing things in this world. Owner of Images by TDashfield photography. www.imagesbytdashfield.com
This entry was posted in Art, Flowers, Nature, Ohio, Photo Techniques, photography, Wordless Wednesday and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Let’s talk about focal points

  1. renxkyoko says:

    I like the 1st one, too.

  2. chris13jkt says:

    I prefer the first one

  3. mickey2travel says:

    Thank you for your insight! I just tend to let the camera “focus” on what it can. I can now see how your photos turn out the way they do. I’ll start trying to do this. Your photo #1 seems better to me, also.

  4. I like the first one with everything in focus also. Cheers =)

  5. Timothy Price says:

    I like them apples! Depends on what look you are going for on how much depth of field you want in a photo.

  6. Lignum Draco says:

    I guess it depends on the story you wish to tell with your photo. Whether the whole scene is important or if you wish to isolate the subject.

  7. For me – I’m going with the second image as i like the BG to be implied…that being said, Lignum Draco is correct, it is all about intent and the story you are telling.

  8. Ingrid says:

    You’re right, both have a different feel. I lean toward #2. Great example and learning lesson.

  9. I am in for the second image..it feels inviting, and like you said, there is dreamy look on the image 🙂

  10. Mark Myers says:

    I like the second. Thanks for the tip, interesting stuff.

Leave a Reply

