Cosplayers

You will find a myriad of costumes at any comic-con which will range from those who just went to a costume store and picked up an outfit to those whose dedication and skills are astounding in the final creation they will eventually wear.  To assist future cosplay makings they also have sessions at the cons where you can learn how to make your own costumes complete with armor, masks, weapons and more .  I’ve seen huge wings that have actually unfolded, body paint and makeup out of this world (I salute the ones who can wear the wild contact lens), hand made armor and masks, fangs and more.

As one who has done full face makeup I can testify that it takes a lot of time and skill to get it right and a ton of cold cream to get it off! You can always tell what character or movie is trending by the number of cosplayers dressed as them.  This con seemed to have a lot of Deadpools I suppose in anticipation of his movie coming out in February.  In the cosplay community we get to know and support one another and trade tips on how to create things; a great group of men and women.

For the younger set, sometimes parents will just bring their children dressed up and then there are those parents (and grandparents) who dress with the children.  As the grands and I were walking along two young men complimented me on starting the kids early with the love of comic cons and cosplaying.  Thank you, I’m trying 🙂

 

 

, , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by milfordstreet on September 24, 2015 - 5:36 am

    Wow, Teri. It is really quite amazing and a great place o be a photographer. It looks like you had a great time. Cheers!

    • #2 by imagesbytdashfield on September 24, 2015 - 7:50 am

      It is a great place to be a photographer but as one of the cosplayers too it can become conflicting LOL Wheeee

  2. #3 by GP Cox on September 24, 2015 - 5:54 am

    Do you amaze yourself that you know the names of all these characters? I’ve often wondered what I would go as, if I had a conference near me….

    • #4 by imagesbytdashfield on September 24, 2015 - 7:48 am

      I could see you doing GI Joe or Cap America 🙂 But yeah, I do know many of the characters but when in doubt I ask them who they are or ask my kids.

  3. #5 by Lignum Draco on September 24, 2015 - 7:22 am

    I’d want the full makeup done. Did you see the youtube of Arnie made up as the Terminator, and then posing in Madame Tussauds and surprising people by coming to life?

    • #6 by imagesbytdashfield on September 24, 2015 - 7:47 am

      That sounds like a good one! As you can see, the girl in green (forgot her character) was in full makeup including red contacts.

  4. #7 by Indah Susanti on September 24, 2015 - 7:55 am

    These are fantastic! I would love to visit Comic-Con someday, is it annual event in US?

    • #8 by imagesbytdashfield on September 24, 2015 - 7:57 am

      They are held all over the world but here in the USA the biggest ones are held in NYC and San Diego once a year. Others are held in various states once a year too.

      • #9 by Indah Susanti on September 25, 2015 - 1:14 am

        Thank you for the information!! I just find out there will be comic-con in the Netherlands as well next year 😀 gosh, now it is worldwide!

      • #10 by imagesbytdashfield on September 25, 2015 - 8:58 am

        Very much so! Did you look at my post where my family was with me at the con?

    • #11 by Indah Susanti on September 25, 2015 - 11:57 am

      Oh no, I might miss it! I will take a look 🙂

  5. #12 by Timothy Price on September 24, 2015 - 9:16 am

    The green lady is wonderful!

  6. #14 by mickey2travel on September 24, 2015 - 9:24 am

    This is so cool! I’m so Super Hero, just much older and fat. So, I’d probably have to attend as Jabba

    • #15 by imagesbytdashfield on September 24, 2015 - 2:35 pm

      You can be any character you want to be but I’ve never seen a Jabba before; plenty of other Star Wars characters but no Jabba.

      • #16 by mickey2travel on September 24, 2015 - 2:42 pm

        LOL! Yeah, but Jabba matches my body style! All the other characters are young and good looking! :^) Well, there is Chewbacca! I’ve got the hair for it…. Hmmmmmm…. you’ve got me thinking now! LOL!

      • #17 by imagesbytdashfield on September 24, 2015 - 2:43 pm

        Again…it doesn’t matter size or age. What matters is you enjoying yourself. Go for it!

  7. #18 by infraredrobert on September 24, 2015 - 11:30 am

    You did mention to the guy that you are supposed to smash cans with your forehead, not your eye, didn’t you? Anyway…well done!

  8. #20 by allentimphotos2 on September 24, 2015 - 1:21 pm

    Love it. Great job in capturing these “characters” and for sharing inside information.

    • #21 by imagesbytdashfield on September 24, 2015 - 2:37 pm

      Thank you. Cosplayers are a wonderful and creative bunch

      • #22 by allentimphotos2 on September 24, 2015 - 2:40 pm

        You’re welcome and it sure seems that way. They are also great subjects to photograph. They want to be captured for posterity.

  9. #23 by Son of Sharecroppers on September 24, 2015 - 9:40 pm

    Very fun! I especially like the soda-can guy and the green lady.

Leave a Reply

