The last one for 2015

Last night as I was sitting reading this and that on the laptop I ran across a juicy tidbit that said “Tonight is the last Super Moon of 2015!” It had totally slipped my mind.  I got up to peer outside thinking yet again it would be cloud city as the weather forecasters here have been predicting that the remains of Hurricane Patricia will be coming through giving us a lot of rain.  But guess what? Clear skies prevailed last night and I was good to go.

I’m sure there will be an abundance of moon shots this week and a lot of them will be similar in composition based upon where the photographer was.  By that I mean you may see a lot of moon shots like mine here featuring a dark sky and the bright moon unless someone was fortunate to be someplace where the composition would be more dramatic say like a shot of the moon rising above the mountains or a city skyline.  While not quite as dramatic as that, I am pleased with my image because it is mine and I was able to stand outside bundled up and capture it – finally!

I took about 40 pictures handheld while leaning against the rail of our deck varying my manual settings.  My images ranged from just a glowing white ball in the dark sky to a detailed moon in a black sky.  I chose this one because I wanted to show the halo of pale light around the moon.

 

( F10 – 1/100 – ISO320 – 220mm – Canon 5D M3 – 70-300mm lens – Lightroom)

SuperMoonOct6490-Edit

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Timothy Price on October 27, 2015 - 9:31 am

    Super!

  2. #3 by marcus dilano on October 27, 2015 - 9:39 am

    Beautiful!

  3. #5 by mickey2travel on October 27, 2015 - 10:00 am

    Wow! That is fantastic! And without a tripod, right? I probably drink too much coffee to hold the camera still for this! LOL!

    • #6 by imagesbytdashfield on October 27, 2015 - 10:03 am

      Thanks 🙂 Mind you I had to brace myself against the deck and do the breathing in our bit to be as still as I could.

      • #7 by mickey2travel on October 27, 2015 - 10:04 am

        It’s a nice talent to have!

      • #8 by imagesbytdashfield on October 27, 2015 - 10:09 am

        Learning and practicing 🙂

  4. #9 by kcg1974 on October 27, 2015 - 10:14 am

    Gorgeous! I just wrote a post, entitled “Writer’s Moon” because this very site kept me up all night! Lovely image! Thank you. 🙂

    • #10 by imagesbytdashfield on October 27, 2015 - 10:18 am

      And thank you. Hope you get some rest 🙂

      • #11 by kcg1974 on October 27, 2015 - 11:21 am

        Lol! Working on it. Thank you. 🙂

  5. #12 by Nancy on October 27, 2015 - 2:27 pm

    Beautiful and hand held! Whoa! I may try tonight… out here. I was watching the Cardinals on Monday Night Football. And the moon was already to high in the sky. So…….. I will try.
    This picture with the halo around it… makes this just perfect!

    • #13 by imagesbytdashfield on October 27, 2015 - 5:43 pm

      Thanks, Nancy. It’s raining here tonight so I’m extra happy I got the shot last night. Hope you get a great shot tonight.

      • #14 by Nancy on October 28, 2015 - 10:29 am

        Toooo hazy here! Missed it! But I may post about the lunar eclipse. I had just returned to AZ and we went on top of a mountain to watch the eclipse. I may post those!

      • #15 by imagesbytdashfield on October 28, 2015 - 10:38 am

        Go for it!

  6. #16 by A. Blake on October 27, 2015 - 2:48 pm

    This is beautiful, thanks for sharing as I missed it.

    • #17 by imagesbytdashfield on October 27, 2015 - 5:43 pm

      Thanks! If it’s not raining there maybe you will see it tonight.

  7. #18 by milfordstreet on October 27, 2015 - 3:49 pm

    Nice shot. I had an early meeting up north this morning and it was gorgeous seeing it set up in the mountains.

    • #19 by imagesbytdashfield on October 27, 2015 - 5:44 pm

      But did you take any photos???

      • #20 by milfordstreet on October 27, 2015 - 7:12 pm

        I tried to do an iPhone shot but it did not come out. Photography and long commutes are not always the best combination. 😜

      • #21 by imagesbytdashfield on October 27, 2015 - 7:24 pm

        Maybe tomorrow you will bring your camera? 🙂

      • #22 by milfordstreet on October 27, 2015 - 8:08 pm

        Perhaps….I’m not up in the hills but know a good spot on the way to the gym. Let’s see if it is clear. Cheers!

  8. #23 by Valerie Price on October 27, 2015 - 10:08 pm

    Wow, amazing capture! I didn’t realize tonight is the last super moon of the year…so cool!

    http://roadesque.com
    http://ourruins.com

    • #24 by imagesbytdashfield on October 28, 2015 - 9:02 am

      Glad I was reading else I would’ve missed it. Today and last night is heavy rains.

  9. #25 by Sartenada on October 28, 2015 - 3:45 am

    Gorgeous.

  10. #27 by Karin Pinkham on October 28, 2015 - 10:51 am

    Absolutely gorgeous.

  1. What A Moon! | Two Trails One Road

Leave a Reply

