Fungus or Fungi

Singular or plural these interesting “things” that I assumed were some form of fungus were growing on a fallen tree limb in the park next to the creek.  I have no idea what they are (if you know please share) but their shape and patterns reminded me of oyster shells.

Tomorrow I will share what they look like in color.

Fungus6047-Edit-2bw

, , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by milfordstreet on November 9, 2015 - 7:25 am

    Nice – I like how they contrast so well against the log.

    • #2 by imagesbytdashfield on November 9, 2015 - 7:27 am

      Thanks. I’d still like to know what they are; they were just so odd looking.

      • #3 by milfordstreet on November 9, 2015 - 7:32 am

        Oyster shells is a good description but I only know the names of mushrooms I buy at the market.

      • #4 by imagesbytdashfield on November 9, 2015 - 7:35 am

        You and me both…and often I need the tag above them to know 😉

  2. #5 by Mjollnir MacAlba on November 9, 2015 - 10:01 am

    Some kind of bracket fungus 🙂 https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bracket_fungus

  3. #7 by Ingrid on November 9, 2015 - 10:16 am

    I came across similar fungi while in WI. I wasn’t pleased with my captures but really enjoy yours. But then again, you are the queen of macro 😆

    • #8 by imagesbytdashfield on November 9, 2015 - 4:00 pm

      QOM huh? Thanks 🙂 Mentioning macro I may be assisting in teaching a macro class to a camera club soon.

      • #9 by Ingrid on November 10, 2015 - 5:33 pm

        Beam me up Scotty!

      • #10 by imagesbytdashfield on November 10, 2015 - 6:30 pm

        I’ve run out of dilithium crystals! lol

      • #11 by Ingrid on November 10, 2015 - 6:55 pm

        😦

  4. #12 by allentimphotos2 on November 9, 2015 - 1:45 pm

    Very nice image. I love the strong tonal contrasts.

    • #13 by imagesbytdashfield on November 9, 2015 - 4:01 pm

      Thank you. Even though the real colors aren’t that vivid (see tomorrow) they are enough for the contrast.

  5. #16 by A. Blake on November 9, 2015 - 10:51 pm

    Yes, I’ve seen them in our neck of the woods as well – I too think it’s a fungus/mushroom

    • #17 by imagesbytdashfield on November 10, 2015 - 8:00 am

      Yep! Bracket fungus. Amazing how nature presents itself sometimes huh?

  6. #19 by Valerie Price on November 10, 2015 - 12:05 am

    Interesting…I’m not sure what they are, but they do look great in black and white! 🙂

    http://roadesque.com
    http://ourruins.com

    • #20 by imagesbytdashfield on November 10, 2015 - 7:59 am

      They are bracket fungus (see link in comments above) thanks 🙂 More fungi this week coming up.

  7. #21 by Timothy Price on November 10, 2015 - 9:55 am

    It looks like that tree has clams!

  8. #23 by badfish on November 15, 2015 - 12:38 am

    Very nicely done. I like the bokeh effect in background.

Leave a Reply

