It’s dead, Jim!

With a tip of the hat to all things Star Trek I have to announce that my workhorse computer I affectionately named Moo Moo (was a Gateway) has gasped it’s last gasp.  Well, it turns on and sometimes stays on but no longer than 15 minutes.  DH has told me to let it go and we shall go shopping for a new one.

I hope all of my important stuff has been backed up (yes I know shame on me if I didn’t) and I believe 99% of my photos are on the NAS drive so they are safe but I always did my editing on the desktop so until things are up and running again there will be no new posts after Sunday.  I am thankful that the laptop is healthy else it would not be pretty around here without my being able to connect to the internet on something bigger than a phone.

I’m sooooooo going to hate getting a new system up and running; I’m not even sure what all of the settings were on my programs and let’s not even go into all of the actions, presets and plug-ins I have to reload and recalibrations – ugh!  But hopefully in the end it will result in a computer that will be bigger, better, faster and stronger than my poor sweet 8 year old running on Windows 7 Moo Moo.

 

 

Broken computer:

(Image from Pinterest)

About imagesbytdashfield

Fine art photographer who loves to see and capture the amazing things in this world. Owner of Images by TDashfield photography. www.imagesbytdashfield.com
This entry was posted in event, life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to It’s dead, Jim!

  1. feralc4t says:

    A good techie could load most of your old apps from the old drive to the new one. 🙂

  2. mickey2travel says:

    My condolences to you and Moo Moo. I’m sure Moo was a wonderful computer and lived a wonderful life. Sad…. Hoping Moo Moo II won’t have too much of a learning curve for you.

  3. My condolences. Maybe an Apple will help😀

  4. Ingrid says:

    May the new transition be painless. I’m sweating, hyperventilating, and have hives just thinking about it 😉

  5. “Time to die…” with a nod to Roy Batty

  6. Well it sounds as if Moo has some life in it and it was not the hard drive that died – over heating processor chip. You may even be able to use the old hard drive.
    I guess an Apple is out of the question as Victor suggested. I’m never go back to a PC. Although that’s a pretty strong statement.
    Good luck with all the transfers.

    • DH thinks it’s the motherboard that’s giving up the ghost and not the HD so I may be able to use it somehow still but the photo programs will all have to be loaded onto the new Moo. I’m up to the task and have my manuals and books on standby. Reloading LR presets is easy…the actions and plug-ins will take time.

      • Actually they may not have to be since they are all on your hard drive. If you’re updating your operating system yes you’ll have to reload and hope your older software will work. Good luck.
        By the way Apple will do all of that for you. They do change a fee but it’s worth the aggravation. Enough Apple already.

      • My IT person works for hugs, hot tea and fish and chips 😉 I have some old stuff on Moo and will have to hope it’s compatible with Win 10. Most of it I think is…but first I need the new computer.

      • Good luck and I don’t think Apple authorizes hugs. What a shame. I suspect they would be free with the service if allowed.

  7. Nandini says:

    I understand your pain, but somehow, I found your post very humorous. 😀 I mean, really! I still have a smile. 🙂

    Good luck with the new one! I’m sure you would love it even more. It’s pretty easy!

    • Change can be painful at times especially when one has gotten into a routine that works for them to the point of almost being able to do it with eyes closed. Oh well…this too shall hopefully be conquered.

  8. ChgoJohn says:

    I don’t care how careful one is, having backed up everything countless times, replacing a computer is scary business. I’m always fearful that something important will slip through the cracks. On the bright side, I won’t know it’s missing for years and, by then, I won’t connect it with the switch between computers.

Leave a Reply

