It’s the other side

Most people when photographing a massive feat of architectural design (also known as a dam) photograph it from the front, the sides or, if they are really lucky, the top.  Me? I took this shot of the Theodore Roosevelt Dam from the back.  Why you ask? It’s simple.  A certain other half wouldn’t let me clamber over the all of two feet high guard rail to get a shot of the front of the dam.

Acting like a petulant teenager, I groused about not being allowed (did I really just say allowed???) to get a shot from the other side of the rail and pointed towards a man who had just stepped over and was taking a shot with his phone.  To DH’s credit and caring, if I had made even a tiny slip, the trip down the hill would have been quite bumpy, rocky, prickly (cactus) and eventually wet (river) when the bottom was reached.

Safe photography means no injured body or camera parts.  I can happily live with that…thank you for looking out for me, honey 🙂

BackDam7107-Edit copy

About imagesbytdashfield

Fine art photographer who loves to see and capture the amazing things in this world. Owner of Images by TDashfield photography. www.imagesbytdashfield.com
This entry was posted in architecture, Nature, photography, travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to It’s the other side

  1. mickey2travel says:

    LOL! Beautiful photo! And, thank you for staying safe (for our sake, too) so we can continue to marvel at your wonderful photography talent!

  2. Lignum Draco says:

    I didn’t think you were the type to need permission, but considering your previous ankle/foot injuries, that was a good idea.

    • I don’t need permission and most of the time once I’m out of the car I’m gone but that drop off had me a bit leery and I think I was asking more for ‘talk me out of it’ than anything else.

  3. I think some shots are just not worth it and gladly let others make them….Nice dam shot…I had to say it, you know that right?

  4. Mark Myers says:

    That’s beautiful and I like its uniqueness.

  5. Nancy says:

    What a “honey!” Sometimes we need a second opinion!

  6. badfish says:

    Dang other halfs…can’t live without um, can’t shoot um. But this shot is simply spectacular!

  7. I know what you are saying…I got some great shots from behind the Glen Canyon Dam.

  8. This is a beautiful shot! So glad you stayed safe! 🙂

    http://roadesque.com
    http://ourruins.com

  9. ChgoJohn says:

    Sorry, Teri, I’m with the DH. The last thing you needed to do is slide down that cactus-filled slope. Besides, this is a perfectly lovely shot.

Leave a Reply

