Breakfast of champions…

Back home in Missouri I grew up with apple, peach and cherry trees.  I never saw an orange on the tree until I was an adult driving through Florida with the kids to Disneyworld.  But in Arizona grapefruit, orange and lemon trees seem to be everywhere and by that I mean not just on a farm but in the yards of residents.  How nice must it be to have your own citrus tree right there in your yard.

I pestered my mother in law at their RV camp to introduce me to one of their neighbors so I could pluck a grapefruit from their tree.  She finally gave in and as you see here, I had plenty to pick from and enjoyed it for breakfast.  The next day while walking through the camp we came upon another neighbor with these huge lemons growing on a tree in their front yard.  Guess who stuffed four huge lemons into her carry on bag for the flight home 😉

Those were the best smelling and tasting lemons ever.

Grapefruit7149-Edit copy

 

20160129_110357

, , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by milfordstreet on February 27, 2016 - 5:18 am

    Nice image. Great story. Cheers

  2. #4 by mickey2travel on February 27, 2016 - 6:15 am

    That’s too cool! If they have trees with Fettuccine Alfredo, I’M MOVING THERE!

  3. #6 by A. Blake on February 27, 2016 - 10:35 am

    I can smell them now!

  4. #8 by Nancy on February 27, 2016 - 8:08 pm

    It’s amazing! We have a lime tree in a planter. But some of these trees are huge and full of fabulous fruit! Glad you got to partake!

    • #9 by imagesbytdashfield on February 28, 2016 - 4:18 pm

      Jealous I am. If I had a lime tree think of the Latin dishes and ceviches and margaritas 🙂

  5. #10 by ChgoJohn on February 28, 2016 - 1:29 pm

    Like you, Teri, I didn’t see any citrus au naturel until I was an adult. Unlike you, I never did get a chance to pick any. Would love to have tasted one so fresh.

    • #11 by imagesbytdashfield on February 28, 2016 - 4:18 pm

      You would’ve lost your mind and gone gonzo in the kitchen I’m sure!

Leave a Reply

