The last day for the orchids

Every year the orchid show returns to the local conservatory and I’m always there almost as soon as it opens.  This year I was everything and everywhere else but there and I almost missed it; that would’ve been a shame.  This day I made myself get out and go for what turned out to be the last day for the show too… better late than not at all.  This week I will be sharing the orchids with you…

 

Phalaenopsis in monochrome

MonoOrchids7394-Edit copy

, , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by mickey2travel on March 7, 2016 - 5:54 am

    Beautiful! I’m glad you went, too!

  2. #3 by pfeifferphotography72 on March 7, 2016 - 8:53 am

    Those are stunning in B&W. Good choice.

  3. #6 by Timothy Price on March 7, 2016 - 10:25 am

    Delightful photo! I didn’t get any orchids this year.

    • #7 by imagesbytdashfield on March 7, 2016 - 10:41 am

      I got a mini one for Valentines Day. Have yet to keep one for more than one season.

  4. #8 by Tuxedo Sophisticated Cat on March 7, 2016 - 10:36 am

    I love orchids. I wish we had something like that here.

    • #9 by imagesbytdashfield on March 7, 2016 - 10:42 am

      This makes my 5th year attending. Maybe some local orchid group has shows where you are.

  5. #10 by milfordstreet on March 7, 2016 - 12:43 pm

    I’m glad you could enjoy the show. These are lovely in monochrome. Cheers!

  6. #12 by Indah Susanti on March 7, 2016 - 1:47 pm

    This is so beautiful! Should be an excellent print for the wall!

    • #13 by imagesbytdashfield on March 7, 2016 - 2:51 pm

      Thank you. I’m working on a horizontal version of this and debating which one I like better 🙂

  7. #14 by allentimphotos2 on March 7, 2016 - 6:27 pm

    This is so nice. Turning the image into B&W adds to the textures.

    • #15 by imagesbytdashfield on March 7, 2016 - 7:27 pm

      Thanks. In color they are white with some lilac and the yellow in the middle.

  8. #16 by Nancy on March 8, 2016 - 4:17 am

    This is a beauty… for some reason flowers in black and white… are even more beautiful!

    • #17 by imagesbytdashfield on March 8, 2016 - 8:57 am

      Sometimes it works out that way but I find that if they are already light in color then going b&w works better 🙂

  9. #18 by ChgoJohn on March 9, 2016 - 9:12 am

    Really beautiful shot, Teri. You can really see how they earned the nickname “moth orchids”.

  10. #19 by ventisqueras on March 10, 2016 - 4:24 pm

    veramente splendida!

  11. #21 by Mark Myers on March 14, 2016 - 6:27 am

    You just wouldn’t think a black and white would do a flower justice. But this is beautiful, so rich and so much depth. Wow

Leave a Reply

