Blowing in the wind

This weekend’s weather was totally nuts and a bit scary.  We had winds that were hitting the 50+ mph speed which rattled the entire house and sent a lot of things outside flying off to Kansas with Dorothy.  They are still building in our subdivision so there were boxes, cardboard, packing foam, and insulation panels flying everywhere.  The next day we awoke to snow on the ground, cold temperatures made colder by the wind still blowing although at a much more sedate speed but still enough to send a certain photographers hair flying all over her head and face.

By the golden hour time it was suggested to make a run for it to see if this old barn was still standing after all of the wind; it had a lean going on but was still hanging on.  I’m afraid it could be gone any day now as it looks like they are getting ready to turn its land into a subdivision.   In my haste to go I forgot my wellies so I wasn’t able to get as close to the barn as I would’ve liked what with the wet field and my anxiety about the wind still blowing, the barn making all sorts of creaking noises and loads of knocked over trees and piles of branches all around me – safety first.

BackBarn7726-Edit copy

(By the way, I am letting my “she who likes to dress up in something other than photography gear sometimes” side out and you can see it over at www.fashionbytdashfield.wordpress.com Please take a peek. )

, , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Lignum Draco on April 4, 2016 - 9:21 am

    Sounds like an awful patch of weather. Are you in a tornado zone?

    • #2 by imagesbytdashfield on April 4, 2016 - 9:29 am

      Not sure about here in Ohio although they do have them. When I lived in Missouri THAT was a tornado zone and I went through a few of them and an earthquake or two 😉

      • #3 by Lignum Draco on April 4, 2016 - 9:31 am

        Yikes.

      • #4 by imagesbytdashfield on April 4, 2016 - 9:33 am

        Nothing like being awakened from a nice sleep by a rumbling noise and the room shaking. That was 2009 I think.

  2. #5 by marcus dilano on April 4, 2016 - 9:21 am

    We had similar wind gusts here in Maryland. I woke up Sunday morning to see my porch light shattered on my front steps lol. Glad you didn’t trry to venture inside while the storm still brewing.

    • #6 by imagesbytdashfield on April 4, 2016 - 9:30 am

      Hope nothing else was damaged on your house. Was not about to go out in that kind of wind. I would’ve been blown away!

      • #7 by marcus dilano on April 4, 2016 - 10:02 am

        Thankfully no exception a piece of siding which I’ll also need to replace. Could have been worse.

      • #8 by imagesbytdashfield on April 4, 2016 - 10:08 am

        Oh yeah! Had a house once where siding went bye bye in a storm. ps. could you peep the other blog of mine 🙂

      • #9 by marcus dilano on April 4, 2016 - 10:12 am

        Sure thing. What’s the name of your other blog?

      • #10 by imagesbytdashfield on April 4, 2016 - 10:29 am

        The link is at the bottom of today’s photo post. Thanks

      • #11 by marcus dilano on April 4, 2016 - 10:31 am

        I’ll make sure to do it t when I get home. I tried the link earlier but I keep getting a unresolved dns error when I click on the link from my pc and phone.

      • #12 by marcus dilano on April 4, 2016 - 10:32 am

        Actually here is the exact message I get when trying to visit that link. net::ERR_NAME_NOT_RESOLVED

      • #13 by imagesbytdashfield on April 4, 2016 - 10:36 am

        UGH!!! My mistake. It’s all fixed now. Thanks for pointing that out to me.

      • #14 by marcus dilano on April 4, 2016 - 10:40 am

        Well at least its fixed now. How is that I’m just finding out about your other blog now ☺☺

      • #15 by imagesbytdashfield on April 4, 2016 - 10:42 am

        I just brought it back to life after letting it be dormant for a long time. Thanks 🙂

  3. #16 by Timothy Price on April 4, 2016 - 9:47 am

    Looks like it was standing in the wind and held it’s position. Nice shot.

  4. #18 by A. Blake on April 4, 2016 - 11:02 am

    We had a wet and wild Sunday as well but thankfully no snow like in CT. Seems like it’s going to be another unseasonably cool week as well…guess we have to take the bitter with the sweet. Stay warm.

    • #19 by imagesbytdashfield on April 4, 2016 - 11:09 am

      Cool and wet here this week. Going to have to do some indoor shooting. Stay warm too!

  5. #20 by milfordstreet on April 4, 2016 - 11:52 am

    What a great old building. We have those slider doors on our barn and I keep them closed tight on days like yesterday. I’m afraid the wind will just blow them off. Cheers!

  6. #22 by Ingrid on April 4, 2016 - 12:04 pm

    Be thankful you’re in a solid house. Those high winds can get mighty scary in an RV…. when she’s rockin and rollin and not because the couple is having fun….. hang on Dorothy!

  7. #24 by infraredrobert on April 4, 2016 - 4:19 pm

    Wind, wind and more wind…today it is sleeting snow and ice…can this really be April?

  8. #26 by ChgoJohn on April 5, 2016 - 12:20 am

    Yeah, it won’t be long now, Teri. I wonder how many have inquired about scavenging the wood. Kinda glad you didn’t get any nearer in that wind. Doesn’t sound all that safe.

  9. #28 by Nancy on April 5, 2016 - 8:28 am

    Great shot… and winds like those are always scary. We get some pretty tough winds in the desert as well. Add sand and dust… ugh!! I think it is called a Haboob! HA HA HA I am serious… a dust storm is called a Haboob out here.

    • #29 by imagesbytdashfield on April 5, 2016 - 8:36 am

      I’ve learned a new word for today – haboob! Who knew? I’ve seen on the news when those dust storms out there hit and it looks scary!

      • #30 by Nancy on April 5, 2016 - 8:44 am

        I have seen them on the news as well. Never really experienced any as of yet!

      • #31 by imagesbytdashfield on April 5, 2016 - 8:47 am

        Thank goodness!

  10. #32 by Indah Susanti on April 5, 2016 - 6:02 pm

    We have windy days this week too, and the wind blows are freaking cold! I was told that sometimes the wind blows away the patio furniture – that is scary! I will follow your new blog! 🙂

    • #33 by imagesbytdashfield on April 5, 2016 - 6:04 pm

      Thank you for the follow, Indah 🙂 Yes, sometimes the wind will blow things off your patio! Once I lived in an area when a tornado hit and my neighbors tool shed ended up in my yard.

Leave a Reply

