A Dying Breed

I have loved shooting this old barn for years and years now (here’s a blast from the past) but I fear the end may really be near for it.  It is much more decayed than when I first found it; a couple of the adjoining sheds have been dismantled or just lie there in a collapsed rubble.  Then there is that new subdivision being built in the field next to it which may or may not expand onto where this barn resides.  This is why I was traipsing in weeds over my knees and fending off pesky vultures – to chronicle this beautiful barn before it is no more.

More images of it coming next week.

 

Barn8717-Edit copy

, , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by milfordstreet on May 14, 2016 - 5:49 am

    I love the yellow of the vegetation in front. It adds a special detail to this image. Cheers.

  2. #4 by GP Cox on May 14, 2016 - 6:04 am

    I agree with Christopher about the yellow flowers, they seem to add dimension and a time-line to the barn. A shame to see it go.

    • #5 by imagesbytdashfield on May 14, 2016 - 4:38 pm

      It hurt my feelings to know it’s days are numbered. I’ve photographed it in every season but summer.

      • #6 by GP Cox on May 15, 2016 - 5:36 am

        It’s like losing an old friend, none of us like too much change.

      • #7 by imagesbytdashfield on May 15, 2016 - 5:44 pm

        Change sometimes is good to prevent stagnation but other times….what you said.

  3. #8 by Sue on May 14, 2016 - 7:55 am

    Oh, fab!

  4. #10 by infraredrobert on May 14, 2016 - 8:56 am

    You just never know when it is going to be your last chance to shoot an old friend…

    • #11 by imagesbytdashfield on May 14, 2016 - 4:40 pm

      Very very true! The golden hour barn I did has big back hoes on it now. They seem to be taking the trees around it first and then working their way on to the buildings.

  5. #12 by C.S. Young Jr. on May 14, 2016 - 9:32 am

    Nice images, I’ve shot a lot of old barn over the last few years. On one hand, I feel like I over did it – so many barns. On the other, I don’t think there will be many more chances left to capture these beautiful old rustic structures.

    • #13 by imagesbytdashfield on May 14, 2016 - 4:40 pm

      Some of their days are numbered so for awhile this is my thing to find and capture as many of them as I can.

  6. #14 by Timothy Price on May 14, 2016 - 11:38 am

    The vultures may not be a good omen for this barn. Great photo well worth fording the weeds and vultures to get.

    • #15 by imagesbytdashfield on May 14, 2016 - 4:41 pm

      I will miss this one when it goes. Hopefully they will leave it alone for a little longer.

  7. #16 by suzyjbarker on May 16, 2016 - 6:13 am

    Great image – love old barns

Leave a Reply

