Old Town Emporium

When I was a little girl and my family would head west in our Ford Fairlane, places like this were called trading posts; I had never even heard of the word emporium.  So fancy schmancy sounding.  But this store in Old Town Albuquerque took me back to those days of traveling on Route 66.  So many things to look at and buy.  Blankets for $9.95, mugs and magnets, shirts and ornaments and something I haven’t seen since I begged my parents to buy them when I was seven years old – Mexican jumping beans.  Wow!

 
emporium_3272-edit
And Happy Veterans Day to you!  Much appreciated…
, , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Piglove on November 11, 2016 - 8:33 am

    OMP! Mom says she LOVES stores like this. It’s like a one shot stop for everything you didn’t need you know. XOXO – Bacon

  2. #3 by Timothy Price on November 11, 2016 - 8:46 am

    Did you buy the beans? And how about the carved Roswell aliens? Since there is a rattlesnake museum in Old Town, I don’t see a “See ’em Live” sign at the Old Town Emporium. That’s the only reason I wanted my parents to stop at trading posts when I was a kid.

    • #4 by imagesbytdashfield on November 11, 2016 - 8:54 am

      Nahhhh. The beans lost their appeal once I turned 10 but no statues for me either. I wanted to go to these places as a kid because of the toys and candy.

  3. #5 by milfordstreet on November 11, 2016 - 10:11 am

    Very cool. I had one evening in Albuquerque and would love to go back. I had some Mexican jumping beans as a kid. Cheers

    • #6 by imagesbytdashfield on November 11, 2016 - 4:14 pm

      What was it about those things that enthralled us as kids? lol

  4. #7 by ChgoJohn on November 12, 2016 - 6:09 pm

    Yes, these places are like a treasure chest for the little ones. They rather lose their appeal as we discover that having some of everything under one roof isn’t necessarily a good thing. (That includes you, too, Mall of America.)

    • #8 by imagesbytdashfield on November 12, 2016 - 6:53 pm

      Oh I dunno…Mall of America was fun and quite good for an aerobic workout 😉

Leave a Reply

