Me, Yuley, and Julenisse – Throwback Thursday

(This post was first run in 2013 when I was home to visit family and friends for Thanksgiving.  The St. Charles Christmas Traditions had just begun and the weather wasn’t as grey and so very cold as it was on this most recent visit.  This was one of my favorite photos from that trip and while I still have the same coat and scarf, alas, the hair has changed.  Still as long but leaning more towards Santa’s color now – ho ho ho!  Darn genetics)

 

Ran into this fellow and his adorably cuddly goat while in St. Charles, Missouri.  Seems his name is Julenisse and he and his pet goat, Yuley, visit the children in Scandinavian countries such as Norway, Sweden Denmark, and Finland.  Yuley knocks on their doors with his horns three times and when they answer they are given a gift and a small paper basket of candy to hang on their Christmas trees.

Fancy meeting him in the midwest!

MeYuley1138-Edit

, , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Timothy Price on December 22, 2016 - 10:02 am

    Fun memories!

    • #2 by imagesbytdashfield on December 22, 2016 - 10:06 am

      Yes they were but now new fun (and cute as all get out – I’m biased!) memories.

  2. #3 by milfordstreet on December 22, 2016 - 10:54 am

    Good times!

  3. #5 by infraredrobert on December 22, 2016 - 12:51 pm

    Ho-Ho!

  4. #7 by A. Blake on December 22, 2016 - 1:04 pm

    Happy Holidays my dear friend!

  5. #9 by ChgoJohn on December 22, 2016 - 1:46 pm

    Before living in my current home, I lived in an area of Chicago, Andersonville, that was once home to a sizable Swedish population. Most are gone now but some remain as do a few businesses. Julenisse was a regular visitor each winter but, to be honest, I thought he was Santa Claus until a clerk clued me in. Either way, the kids got excited seeing him.

    • #10 by imagesbytdashfield on December 22, 2016 - 3:07 pm

      I bet that was awesome to see! Did he bring his goat?

      • #11 by ChgoJohn on December 22, 2016 - 3:14 pm

        Not that I recall and, trust me, I’d remember if he had. 🙂

Leave a Reply

