Perfectly Imperfect

In photography we all strive to get the shot as perfect as possible and many times we do.  The colors are right, the composition is spot on, the clarity is ideal and so on.  But there are times (and whether we want to admit it or not sometimes many times) when we flub.  Out of focus, motion blur when we weren’t going for blur, too much noise, over exposed or under exposed… we’ve all got those war stories to tell.  But what if even though the image didn’t turn out the way we had originally planned it still is a nice image in it’s own imperfect way?

Such is the case here.  The lighting conditions were all over the place in the butterfly wonderland.  Some butterflies were in direct (and a bit harsh) light, others where in the shadows and some where in partial sun and shade.  Options were to adjust my settings for each area I was in and possibly risk missing a shot since butterflies tend to get a bit impatient or to set my camera to aperture priority only changing that setting based upon where and what I was shooting letting the camera do the rest of the thinking.

That worked for me the majority of the time but not always I’m afraid.  In this case I hadn’t changed my settings from the prior butterfly to accommodate this one (shame on me; I turned around and there it was so I just went for it) who was moving his wings fairly quickly.  The shutter speed was too slow for this Paper Kite butterfly resulting in my focal point being not where I wanted it and the image not being as sharp as I wanted it around his head.  Even when I do my best to hold perfectly still I never really am… wiggle happens.

I was disappointed that the image didn’t come out the way I wanted it to but I came to like it anyway because of the composition and colors; imperfections and all.  What’s your thoughts on this and which version do you like – monochrome or color?

paperkite4807-edit-2 paperkite4807-edit

 

About imagesbytdashfield

Fine art photographer who loves to see and capture the amazing things in this world. Owner of Images by TDashfield photography. www.imagesbytdashfield.com
This entry was posted in Art, Insects, life, macro, Monochrome Monday, Nature, photography and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Perfectly Imperfect

  1. Adrian Lewis says:

    Definitely prefer the black and white one, Terri, its very stylish! Adrian 🙂

  2. Amanda Lyle says:

    My eyes are steering more towards the monochrome! Great shots!

  3. Mark Myers says:

    I like the monochrome shot.

  4. Timothy Price says:

    B&W for this one.

  5. Piglove says:

    I like either one. They are both beautiful like YOU! XOXO – Bacon

  6. Ingrid says:

    I think the B&W works best on this one!

  7. I like the b/w image best but both are great.

  8. I like the monochrome best. I like the composition! Not a dud at all.

  9. ChgoJohn says:

    I thought I would prefer the color photo but I actually like the monochrome. Go figure! 🙂

  10. Melanie C. says:

    Black & White definitely!!!! I have a similar photo!

Leave a Reply

