State Butterfly of Arizona

The Two-Tailed Swallowtail.  I get down right giddy when I come across a species I’ve never seen before and this was one of those moments.  Such a beautiful creature.

twotail4753-edit

 

, , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Lignum Draco on February 15, 2017 - 6:42 am

    If I can differentiate a moth from a butterfly, that makes me happy. Identifying a species is a whole other ballgame, which I can’t play. 🙂

    • #2 by imagesbytdashfield on February 15, 2017 - 9:29 am

      It’s 95% all about the antennae! But I’ve learned the names of the ones I’ve seen before so I get happy when it’s a newbie.

  2. #3 by Timothy Price on February 15, 2017 - 8:57 am

    Beautiful. The Sandia Hairstreak Butterfly is the NM State Butterfly.

    • #4 by imagesbytdashfield on February 15, 2017 - 9:30 am

      Thanks and I just looked it up. Ohio has a state insect, the ladybug.

  3. #5 by ventisqueras on February 16, 2017 - 11:38 am

    così belle, fragili e gentili. sembrano venire dal paradiso

  4. #7 by ChgoJohn on February 20, 2017 - 11:27 am

    I’ve never seen this one, Teri. Double-tail? Wonderful!

Leave a Reply

