Red, Green and Blue

There’s a story that goes with this image revealing how far a photographer might go for the shot.  DH pulled over into a safe spot, I jumped out and took a few shots including this one but I wanted to get more of this old barn so I cautiously walked up the two lane road, which had very little in the way of a shoulder for me to stand on, to try for another angle.  I couldn’t step off the shoulder and into the grass – which I have done before for some roadside shots – either because there were weeds up to my knees and they went straight down into a deep ditch.

And then I noticed this horrible smell.  I looked down and saw what looked like part of a dead deer in the brackish water and weeds.  Time to go!!!

(Upon re-reading this post I realized what I did by walking on the narrow shoulder was not too bright.  There is no photo out there worth getting hurt for.  I will never attempt something like this again and neither should you)

, , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by mz&cho on July 20, 2017 - 5:29 pm

    Yikes! Be careful next time.

  2. #3 by Timothy Price on July 20, 2017 - 5:56 pm

    A little different from our “red and green”. Nice shot. Do you get a shot of the dead dear in the brackish water?

    • #4 by imagesbytdashfield on July 20, 2017 - 6:05 pm

      I’m trying to forget I ever saw (and smelled) it!

      • #5 by Timothy Price on July 20, 2017 - 6:07 pm

        Probably could have made an abstract image with it.

      • #6 by imagesbytdashfield on July 20, 2017 - 6:08 pm

        Still trying to forget it…

  3. #7 by Ingrid on July 20, 2017 - 7:38 pm

    Yeah, I can relate … oh the pickles I get myself into 😏

  4. #9 by milfordstreet on July 20, 2017 - 8:43 pm

    Nice shot….sorry about the smell. And in summer – yuck!

  5. #11 by Mark Myers on July 24, 2017 - 6:22 am

    That smell… will nearly bowl you over. I get it on early morning runs sometimes.

Leave a Reply

