Daisy – Sing it HAL

Daisy Bell (Bicycle Built For Two)  – Harry Dacre 1892

There is a flower within my heart,
Daisy, Daisy,
Planted one day by a glancing dart,
Planted by Daisy Bell.
Whether she loves me or loves me not
Sometimes it’s hard to tell,
And yet I am longing to share the lot
Of beautiful Daisy Bell.

Chorus:

Daisy, Daisy, give me your answer, do,
I’m half crazy all for the love of you.
It won’t be a stylish marriage –
I can’t afford a carriage,
But you’d look sweet on the seat
Of a bicycle built for two.
We will go tandem as man and wife,
Daisy, Daisy,
Ped’ling away down the road of life,
I and my Daisy Bell.
When the road’s dark, we can both despise
P’licemen and lamps as well.
There are bright lights in the dazzling eyes
Of beautiful Daisy Bell.

(Chorus)

Daisy, Daisy, give me your answer, do
I will stand by you in wheel or woe
Daisy, Daisy,
You’ll be the bell which I’ll ring you know
Sweet little Daisy Bell
You’ll take the lead on each trip we take
Then if I don’t do well
I will permit you to use the brake
beautiful Daisy Bell

(Chorus)

Daisy, Daisy, give me your answer, do
(Wikipedia)
Well who knew? I sure didn’t.  I always thought there was only that one part of the chorus and now I find there is an entire song and even some variations and “answer songs” to it.  Check out Wikipedia if you want to see some of those, they are kinda fun.  My first memory that I can fully confirm of this song is of course in the infamous movie by Stanley Kubrick – 2001: A Space Odyssey.  That is still one of the strangest, weirdest and most argument provoking movies ever.  At the time it came out, there were some older kids in high school who said it was best to go see the movie “altered”.  I don’t think I need to explain what they meant by that! And now to amp up my sci-fi geek cred – I have an old LP somewhere packed away (hopefully safely) of the soundtrack to that movie! Go me!
You have to admit, it did have a very interesting score for a sci-fi movie.  I mean, The Blue Danube and Also Sprach Zarathustra, far out man!  But besides the later song (just the opening bit) becoming almost ubiquitous in its usage – I just saw it used in a Phineas and Ferb cartoon the other day – I cannot see a pretty little daisy flower anymore without hearing HAL sing the daisy song.  While I was taking pictures of these little charmers, I was also humming the song.    Hal, open the bay doors.
   
About imagesbytdashfield

Fine art photographer who loves to see and capture the amazing things in this world. Owner of Images by TDashfield photography. www.imagesbytdashfield.com
This entry was posted in fun, humor, life, Nature, photography and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Daisy – Sing it HAL

  1. bulldogsturf says:

    Late 1960’s a song that was difficult to stop singing once one started, you even sang it in your sleep… and now you’ve done it to me again, here I type while singing the song in my head… how will I get it off my tongue again? how not to sleep singing in my head? Dang this might be construed as brain washing… wash boarding, step aside, Daisy is back…
    Actually that song brings back wonderful memories of the sixties, a great time to have been young, how I miss it, old fart that I am now…

  2. Don’t you just hate it when a song gets stuck in your head like that 😉 Now now…you are not old you are just “seasoned”!

  3. Love the daisies but better than that this reminds me of when we were kids. One of our local gas station owners had a couple of tandem bikes that he rented out. Once in a while we’d rent one and go for a ride on it; they were so much fun!

  4. dhphotosite says:

    Ya know…I remember the song but I don’t remember HAL singing it…In fact I don’t remember much about that movie…I don’t think I was “altered” I think I just didn’t get it. Little slow sometimes.

  5. dhphotosite says:

    NIce photos of the daises!!!!

  6. Clever and witty writing. Beautiful photos.

  7. Well, I guess my assignment, also, is to watch the youtube clip of that song. If it’s there. I don’t remember HAL singing it, either. But I do remember seeing it. Twice!

  8. what beauty and light shines from you through these precious words!
    thank you very much for following and opening the door to your exciting world! Eddie

  9. Goodness, I had NO idea about the rest of the song, either! And I didn’t remember it was in the movie. And I *definitely* failed to see it in an altered state. What an ignoramus I am! 😉 My only 2001 cred derives from knowing another, more obscure yet, piece from the soundtrack, György Ligeti’s amazing ‘Lux Aeterna’, and my spouse having conducted that devilishly hard choral work several times with different groups of the much-needed virtuoso singers. Thanks for the memories (to quote yet another musical piece)!
    xo,
    K

Leave a Reply

