Katy Trail Park

The Katy Trail State Park is a state park in the U.S. state of Missouri that contains the Katy Trail, a recreational rail trail that runs 240 miles (390 km) in the right-of-way of the former Missouri–Kansas–Texas Railroad.[1] Running largely along the northern bank of the Missouri River, it is the country’s longest Rails-to-Trails trail.[2] The trail is open for use by hikers, joggers, and cyclists year-round, from sunrise to sunset. Its hard, flat surface is of “limestone pug” (crushed limestone).

The nickname “Katy” comes from the phonetic pronunciation of ‘KT’ in the railroad’s abbreviated name, MKT. Sections of the Katy are also part of the Lewis and Clark National Historic Trail and the American Discovery Trail.  wikipedia

On my recent trip back to Missouri one of my must stops for the pubs and the scenery is the historic part of St. Charles, Missouri which just happens to have this park in it’s back yard!  I’ve walked along part of it – not even a miles worth of walking I’d venture to guess – but I’ve never cycled it.  I’m more of a cute basket in the front cruiser type of biker and not hard core like some who have gone miles and miles on this trail.

KTtrail0792-Edit copy

 

And I am off again!  The local comic-con starts today and I am still last minute tweaking this years outfit.  Today I must spray paint the wig – very carefully.  Here’s a little hint of who I am going as this year.

DLMshirt

 

Oh, and if you want to see the birthday girl all dolled up then take a peek at the fashion blog over HERE  She’d like it if you did 🙂

, , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Timothy Price on July 29, 2016 - 9:06 am

    That’s a long and winding road or trail.

  2. #3 by milfordstreet on July 29, 2016 - 10:07 am

    I’ve wanted to ride that trail for years!

    • #4 by imagesbytdashfield on July 29, 2016 - 2:55 pm

      I thought of you as soon as I got there 🙂 C’mon down! You’ll have a ball.

  3. #5 by ChgoJohn on August 1, 2016 - 6:56 pm

    I think it’s great that so many stretches of old railroad tracks are being converted to parkland. The people behind designating these 240 miles should be commended. It could not have been an easy task but, to me, very worthwhile.

  4. #7 by Nancy on August 4, 2016 - 8:10 am

    Can’t wait for the reveal!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

