Spooky House 1884

As amazing as this house is it just lends itself to all sorts of imaginary scenarios.  Who were the builders, what was life like then, who lived here, who living or not so living resides here…..etc.   With those thoughts in mind I stared at one shot of the house and images of Dark Shadows and Psycho and Hush Hush Sweet Charlotte came to mind (Yes! I have watched some scary things in my time.)  So with a spooky grungy texture layer and several blending modes I came up with this image.  Maybe I went a bit too happy with the conversion but it reminds me of an old silent movie where the film is all grainy and scratchy; a tintype photo or an old scary movie poster.  What do you think?

Old pink house spooky border

About imagesbytdashfield

Nature and wildlife photographer who loves to see and capture the amazing things in this world. Owner of Images by TDashfield photography. www.imagesbytdashfield.com
This entry was posted in architecture, photography and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Spooky House 1884

  1. Jerry says:

    Don’t know how you did it but love it. It looks like you dug the photo up along with the other family treasures locked away in an old wooden chest buried in the basement from the mid 1800’s.

  2. cecilia says:

    I like it a lot! certainly looks haunted now.. c

  3. DeDivahDeals says:

    I hear the scratchiness of an old reel to reel in a projectionist booth. “Hush, Hush Sweet Charlotte” was one of my favorite Betty Davis’ movies.

  4. ChgoJohn says:

    Well that certainly did the trick. It went from abandoned to being the main setting for a Stephen King story. Well done, Teri.

  5. Very spooky! I wouldn’t be caught D-E-D in there…!

    Happy Sharefest!
    xoxo,
    Khloe
    http://www.kgstyleblogs.com

  6. LOVE. It.
    And yes, I am a fan of the old-school scary movies, too, including HHSC and Psycho, and the dry-as-bones humor of Dark Shadows! Cool!

    • Thanks 🙂 My psyche has been permanently altered by all of the horror movies I used to watch. I refuse to watch the newer genres of “horror” movies because they are just too gory.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.