Champagne? C’est bon!

Champagne!  Lovely stuff if you like it.  My tastes hover around the somewhat dry varieties; cannot stand the really sweet stuff.  Champagne sees to have solidified it’s place as the go to drink for celebrations.  Weddings, new homes, New Years Eve, fancy parties, boat christenings…those moments of joy and merriment.  Sometimes, champagne is drunk just because you want a nice glass of bubbly such as when I first encountered this bottle.

It was on a beach on the French side of that French/Dutch island – St. Martin/St. Maarten.  It was at a joint called the Bikini Beach where most of the people kicking back there were in swimwear along with the waitresses.  I cannot recall much of what was on the menu other than I had the most perfect lamb chops I had ever had and the French bread was really French bread and that butter? Oh the creaminess!  But how I picked this champagne? No idea but it was served in a champagne glass with a dollop of mango puree in the bottom.  Heavenly…

I’m pretty sure I had more than one glass and with my limited amount of French I eventually was laughing about something with one of the charming female servers and there is a picture somewhere in a box of the two of us hugging and laughing both in our bikinis.  That photo will never see the light of day but I do recall it being red, white and blue.  This champagne haunted me upon my return to the states and it was many many years later until I found it again at a specialty shop.  Trust me! This is good stuff, a wee pricey but worth it.

Now for a side note about photographing glass.  Be aware of where you are standing or you will be reflected in the glass no matter what its color is and if you do as I did – use a window for natural light – that will reflect in the glass too.  It takes patience and playing around with light diffusers (curtain sheers or a white sheet) and the positioning of the subject matter along with the camera to get it to your liking.  There is post editing to remove and clean things up but with glass that can be a chore.  But sometimes reflections in glass like holiday lights, the sun, and scenery to name a few   make great images. It’s your vision – go for it!

Sante!

ChampagneXU9A1999-Edit copy

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by Timothy Price on January 5, 2016 - 9:49 am

    I never cared much for the bubbly stuff, although I’ve had Asti sparkling wines that are pretty good. I rarely drink anything but water and coffee. I’m Mr. boring. I used to be the designated driver on the rare occasions friends would get me out to party with them in my younger days.

    • #2 by imagesbytdashfield on January 5, 2016 - 10:12 am

      DH doesn’t even like coffee. He’s tea, water and colas – period! Don’t care much for Asti’s.

  2. #3 by ChgoJohn on January 5, 2016 - 10:50 am

    If it’s got bubbles and a kick, I’ll drink it. The kick is important lest someone try to serve me Alka-Seltzer.

  3. #5 by Amanda Lyle on January 5, 2016 - 11:04 am

    You just can’t beat a bit of bubbly!

  4. #7 by infraredrobert on January 5, 2016 - 11:36 am

    I agree 100% on having a preference for dry bubbly…a tip for shooting glass bottled beverages: use a shaped piece of tin foil on the backside of the bottle to “kick” in some glow to the contents.

  5. #9 by Nancy on January 5, 2016 - 1:41 pm

    What a fabulous story about this Champagne… And mango in the bottom. How yummy is that!
    I would love to give this a try but I bet I must look it up in a specialty store. I buy a lot of Prosecco as you never know when you will want a Peach Bellini or a Mimosa. Cheers!

    • #10 by imagesbytdashfield on January 5, 2016 - 3:44 pm

      I see both of those drinks in our futures 😉 I had to special order the bottle from a local store here and it took months before it came in. Salud!

  6. #11 by milfordstreet on January 5, 2016 - 3:16 pm

    Nice! I am always catching my reflection in glass. =P
    We have been getting Prosecco lately for special occasions.

    • #12 by imagesbytdashfield on January 5, 2016 - 3:48 pm

      Sometimes you just woke up and made it through the week is good enough reason to pop the cork 😉

  7. #13 by etomczyk on January 5, 2016 - 8:08 pm

    I’m a champagne woman–always have several bottles in our wine cabinet cooling and ready for instant celebrations! (All the more reason for you to visit. Ha!)

    • #14 by imagesbytdashfield on January 6, 2016 - 9:03 am

      Lemme put the location into MapQuest and see. Might plan a visit one day 🙂

  8. #15 by Indah Susanti on January 8, 2016 - 6:27 pm

    Oh, I love champagne too – what a lovely story and funny too 🙂 One thing I find out after in the US for almost a week, a bottle of wine could cost double than in Europe! I am afraid to see the price of a bottle of champagne now 😀

Leave a Reply

